 |
|
 |
 |

happiegrrrl
Jul 29, 2008, 2:04 PM
Post #1 of 5
(799 views)
Shortcut
Registered: Mar 25, 2004
Posts: 4533
|
Today I received the quoted note below in my PM box. I have heard others say they, too, have gotten spam in their PM's. How is it, that a spammer is finding the inner communications system within a website to be accessible enough to that they can send mass PM's? IS it even possible, or is this some ass from the site making a username and doing it because...well, because they are an ass with too much time on their hands? Thanks in advance for looking into the matter, and explaining why this is being allowed to continue.
In reply to: Dear Friend I am Micheal Haword a staff of Delta Capital Bank, Benin Republic .One of our accounts with holding balance of 6,100,000 (Six million One hundred thousand US Dollars ) has been dormant and last operated in the past four (4) years. From investigations and confirmations, the owner of this account is a German American by name Engineer Holger Cohen, who died on the crashed on Thursday,25th December 2003. Since this development,we have advertised for his next of kin or any close relation to come forward to claim this money, but nobody came to apply for the claim and there was no declared next of kin. Information from the National Immigration service also states that he was single on point of entry into Benin Republic.I now resort to using is last name to trace any of his relation. Where you are not in any way related to him ,we acn have this deal done between us.I have contacted you to assist in repatriating the fund left behind by my client to avert consfiscation by the bank.I have confidentially discussed this issue with a fellow staff and we have agreed to find a reliable foreign partner to deal with. We thus propose to do business with you standing in as the next of kin of the deceased. The fund will be released to you, after which we shall come over for sharing on a percentage to be agreed upon. This transaction is totally free of risk as the fund is legitimate. On your interest, respond to my request ASAPfor more breifing. Best Regards, Micheal Haword
|
|
|
 |
 |

ddt
Jul 29, 2008, 3:14 PM
Post #2 of 5
(794 views)
Shortcut
|
Thanks for letting us know about this. I have disabled the user's account. Anyone with a valid e-mail address can register an account and use the free functionality of rockclimbing.com, including posting in the forums and sending PMs. There is no way to know someone is a spammer when they register, unless we've blocked their IP address before, which we occasionally have to do. Hence we rely on you, the users, to let us know if you receive unsolicited PMs or come across spam posts in the forums. A PM directly to me or an e-mail to me (ddt at rockcliming.com) is usually the most effective. I think we've been pretty good at squashing these quickly and efficiently once we become aware of it. We have absolutely no incentive or reason to "allow it to continue" as you're putting it. This is a problem that we're all very aware of, and will do our best to contain. Unfortunately, unlike e-mail spam filters, I am not aware of any automated solutions we can utilize to prevent these spam posts or PMs. We need to do it manually, and we need your help. Thanks, DDT
|
|
|
 |
 |

happiegrrrl
Jul 29, 2008, 6:45 PM
Post #3 of 5
(787 views)
Shortcut
Registered: Mar 25, 2004
Posts: 4533
|
Okay - sorry about the "allow to continue" remark. It just seems to me that a real spammer would go through the registration process and also, since there isn't a way someone can post mass PM's, it seems strange that a person would go through the process of manually sending each PM.
|
|
|
 |
 |

ddt
Jul 29, 2008, 7:55 PM
Post #4 of 5
(780 views)
Shortcut
|
No worries. I understand. Incredibly, these spammers are so persistent they do actually go through the manual registration process and they send PMs one by one. DDT
|
|
|
 |
|
|