Forums: Archive: World Climbing News:
Golden Piton Award Winners
RSS FeedRSS Feeds for World Climbing News

Premier Sponsor:



Jan 21, 2003, 11:19 AM
Post #1 of 1 (2691 views)

Registered: Sep 6, 2001
Posts: 3335

     Golden Piton Award Winners
Report this Post
Average: avg_1 avg_2 avg_3 avg_4 avg_5 (0 ratings)  

Climbing Magazine announced the winners of their first annual Golden Piton Awards in the March 2003 issue. The new set of awards was created to honor major climbing achievements in 2002 and years to come.

Dean Potter mopped up as the only climber to win multiple awards. Other stand-outs include Josune Bereziartu who became the first woman to send 5.14d, Bernd Zangerl who established two new V15s and Alexandre Chabot who dominated the international comp scene.

Winners List

Sport: Josune Bereziartu for sending 5.14d and making it apparent that she is the strongest woman in the world.

Mountaineering: Mick Fowler and Paul Ramsden for a first ascent of the brilliantly dangerous Siguniang Peak in China.

Bouldering: Bernd Zangerl who emerged from the woodwork to fire off the second ascent of Dreamtime and has now established 2 more V15s.

Solo: Dean Potter for daring ascents of California Roulette, Super Couloir and Compressor Route.

Ice: Will Gadd for establishing a mixed climb that has seen only 3 ascents. Musashi tentatively goes at M12.

Competition: Alexandre Chabot for establishing the longest winning streak in World Cup history en route to scoring 8 international victories in 02.

Big Wall: Dean Potter for his timeles free ascents of El Cap and Half Dome in one day.

Trad: Beth Rodden who flashed the Phoenix 5.13a and sent Country Boys 5.13d and Grand Illusion 5.13b/c.

Humanitarian Service: Greg Mortenson who started the Central Asia Institute after returning from his attempt at K2.

Rookie of the Year: Ben Bransby and Jvan Tresch for sending Freerider on El Cap VI 5.12d/5.13a in under 14 hours.

Pick up the March 2003 issue of Climbing for brief articles summarizing the Awards.

Honerable Mentions

Ramone Julian
Edu Marin
Steve McClure
Jean Christophe Lafille
Alberto Inurrategi
Sean Easton
Ueli Stek
Josune Bereziartu
Fred Nicole
John Gaskins
Markus Bock
Steve Schneider
Dani Andrada
Scott Semple
Sean Isaac
Bruno Sorzac
Rolo Garibotti
Muriel Sarkany
Thomas Mrazek
Big Wall
Josh Wharton
Brian McMahon
Yugi Huriyama
Rob Miller
Neil Gresham
Humanitarian Service
Doctor Geoff Tabin
Doctor Sanduk Ruit
Air National Gaurd 210 (Anchorage Alaska)
Rookie of the Year
Russell Mitrovich
Ramone Julian
Edu Marin

Story courtesy of

[ This Message was edited by: tim on 2003-01-21 12:22 ]

Forums : Archive : World Climbing News


Search for (options)

Log In:

Password: Remember me:

Go Register
Go Lost Password?

Follow us on Twiter Become a Fan on Facebook