Skip to Content

Gear : Reviews

Reviews by adamtd (48)


Simulator CNC Training Board (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.78/5 Average Rating : 4.78/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories: Hang Boards

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-20


I've had my Simulator Hang Board for 5 years now and I love it, it's got everything you need ot train every grip. Just wash it often or else teh grease builds up.


WhisperLite Stove (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.10/5 Average Rating : 4.10/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Stoves: Backpacking Stoves

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


Sure you can always find someone who knows someone who had one of these blow up in their face. I've used it for almost a decade now, and have never had a problem. whether burning white gas, alcohol, diesel, or regular unleaded gasoline. This stove works. e sure to use teh international version if you're burning anything other than white gas. It burns hot and boils water fast. You can bake or simmer on it, but you do have to play with teh stove more. just talk to anyone that's been on a NOLS expedition, they can teach you how.


Minimalist Bivy Sack (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I used this Bivy sack in Nepal on Ama Dablam. It's a relatievely light weight bivy sack that'll keep you dry when it gets wet. The material is light weight and therefore lends itself to punctures and tears pretty easily, but you have to sacrifice something for teh weight. I've been very happy with it's functionality.


Low Alpine NOLS Pack Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


if you've seen a NOLs catalog, you've seen this green monster on someone's back. It'll carry heavy, bulky loads like no other pack. This pack excels on extended expeditions where bulkyness is part of the game. Although no one wants to carry a bone crushing 80 Lb pack, this one will do it better than any other. I've gotten this pack up to 120 lbs, didn't enjoy it, but it carried teh weight well. the pack itself isn't light, but when carrying a lot of weight, you'll be wanting the padding that makes this pack so heavy.


Alpine Attack 40 (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


The second best pack on teh market, only beat by teh cold cold world Valdez. I've used this pack fro three years now and it has seen everything. It's a good size, and carries well, although if you're tall stay away form this pack. The torso is just long enough for me at 5' 10".


Valdez (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


the best pack I've ever own, I wish it'd never been stolen. this pack is a no nonsense pack with all teh right bells and whistles that you'll use all of them, but nothing else. It's burable and can be hauled up route behind you without being trashed. Just the right size for an alpine style climb and going light. I even used this pack for a 200+ mile solo trip on teh AT during teh summer.


Myo 3 (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.45/5 Average Rating : 4.45/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


Of the four headlamps I own, this is what I use the most. It's agreat balance between weight and vaersatility. The LEDs save battery power while providing plenty of light for around camp or on alpine starts. The bright halogen bulb is excellent for route finding at night or spot lighting your friends whiel their comuning with nature.


Kiva (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I used this product on a NOLS expedition in teh Wind rivers in snow, rain, and beautiful weather, as well as in Escalante National Monument. Some people hate it, but I loke it. It sets up quick and breaths well. teh weight is comparable, and I'd love to buy one. Hey, I named my pet rabbit in school after this tent.


Half Dome 2 Plus (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.89/5 Average Rating : 4.89/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


What an awesome tent! I've used this thing backpacking and mountaineering. It's held up to sustained 60 moh wind and 80 mph gusts when guyed out. it is a little small for two guys, but if you sleep nose to toes it works well. The weight is good, and the option to set up with the just teh poles and teh rainfly is great for summer backpacking and cutting weight. Teh dual door/vestibule is great and teh vestibules are actually decent size. I would recommend this tent to anyone. I would call it a solid 3 season tent if you know how to set her up right.


Zen Average Rating = 3.67/5 Average Rating : 3.67/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Velcro

Review 1 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I was excited when I bought these, but was let down. The rubber would slip when I was standing on a 10 degree sloped rock. I'll never buy these again. Maybe I got a bad batch of rubber, but I won't be coming back.


Katana Velcro Climbing Shoe (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.12/5 Average Rating : 4.12/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Velcro

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


What an awesoem slipper. I use these more than any other shoe. The velcro is just as good as laces, only faster. With enough foot strength, you can edge with these like any other shoe. They are ultra sensitive and great for smearing if you don't wear them too small. The do stretch a significant amount. I wear size 11 street shoes and by size 9 Katanas. It's painful breaking them in, but get them wet and it helps teh process.


Cliff (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 3.80/5 Average Rating : 3.80/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Lace Up

Review 0 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


A great shoe for a beginner, or an experienced climb edging on the smallest stuff. It's a stiff sole, which is great for edging, but smearing isn't the best, although not bad either. I would say this shoe is a great all around shoe. I use a boudle lace system in which I use two short laces on each shoe, one that extends fro teh toe to half way up teh shoe, and the otehr teh rest of teh way. This allows me to crank down on eth toe while leaving the rest of teh shoe loose.


Ace popular Average Rating = 4.18/5 Average Rating : 4.18/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Lace Up

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I climbed in the Aces when they first came out. They were awesome and that holds true today. a great all around shoe.


Mythos (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.61/5 Average Rating : 4.61/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Lace Up

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


An awesome all around shoe. I love the way it's designed to lay your toes flat. The unique lacing system is great. With out the boards last, if you want to edge on small dime edges, you do need some significant foot strength. They are oh so comfortable though, a great all day, all around shoe.


Ice 9000 (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.67/5 Average Rating : 3.67/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Boots

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


It's true, they are warmer than a dutch oven. These boots are great for really cold temperatures. They are on the bulky side, but what double plastic boot isn't. Teh upper is far more flexible than your usually double plastic boots wich is nice. The foot print is actually quite narrow for as wide as teh boot upper is, so it does take soem getting used to. Don't buy this boot if you have wide feet.


Makalu (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.80/5 Average Rating : 4.80/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


A great heavy duty backpack/trekking boot. If you're carry heavy loads off trail this boot rocks. Once broken in, it is so comfortable, I could almost wear it around town. Semi stiff so you can put crampons on it, I certainly wouldn't use it for extended steep snow field climbing. I love these boots and would recommend them to anyone, but don't think they're light duty, they are defintely heavy duty boots, but a good all around boot.


Annapurna (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Boots

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I love Asolo boots, and these have upheld the tradition. I use these boots primarily for road side ice and mixed suffer fests. They hold up well, and I feel a lot of control in them. Teh upper is flexible when broken in, which is great for technical climbing. I do wish I'd have bought mine a 1/2 size larger.


Boulder (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 2.50/5 Average Rating : 2.50/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Approach Shoes

Review 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


What was Sportiva thinking?! The old style was great, with excellent rubber. This new style sucks! The rubber is so hard it feel like I'm walking on a skating rink when I'm on rock. They blew out after a month of in Nepal (they weren't even my primaryt pair of shoes). I'll never buy them again. I love Sportiva though, and all my boots and climbing shoes are sportiva, but they missed the mark with these.


Guide Tennie (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.40/5 Average Rating : 4.40/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Approach Shoes

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I love them, I love them, I love them! I've climbed a 5.9 smear fest in these things, and crag in them all the time. My first pair delaminated with in a month of buying them. I sent them back and 5.10 sent me knew ones with a letter of apology. the pair they sent me held up (the first were just a fluke). I'll never buy another approach shoe.


10.5 mm Accelerator 60 Meter - Standard Average Rating = 4.31/5 Average Rating : 4.31/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Climbing Ropes: Dynamic Single Ropes

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I love teh accelerator. I bought my first one when they had just come out and wil use them as long as they make them. it handles well, isn't super heavy, and will take a beating. As long as you manage your rope well, it won't kink a whole lot.


Bulldog Hammer Ice Tool (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 2.50/5 Average Rating : 2.50/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Ice Axes and Hammers

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


Not a great firts line tool, but an excellent third tool. this is what i usually carry as a third tool for teh hammer. The shaft plunges well if you're in an alpine environmentthat has snow fields.


Bulldog Adze Ice Tool (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Ice Axes and Hammers

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


Not a great front line tool, but it makes a good thrid tool. It plunges well if you're going to be in an alpine environment that might has some snow fields.


Fixe Pulley (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.67/5 Average Rating : 3.67/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Pulleys

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


It's a pully and it works. It's relatively smooth, but I haven't used it for that much.


Ultralegere Pulley (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Pulleys

Review 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


Almost absolutely useless. If you don't have teh right size carabiner with the right curviture, you're screwed. If Petzl made the carabiner hole larger it would make it better. I bought these to carry a couple for selfrescue, but generally when that happens you don't have your pick of biners and I don't carry designated biners for these pullies. They did work all right for my slack line though, but I didn't even need them there.


Ascension Handled Ascender (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.53/5 Average Rating : 4.53/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Ascenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I own a pair, L/R, and have been very happy with how they work. They work best on 9.8-10.5mm ropes, but I've used them on 5mm in Nepal and was very happy with their use. As does everyone, the aggressive teeth make me a little leery, but they haven't desheathed a rope on me yet.


Stopper Nuts (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.45/5 Average Rating : 4.45/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Nuts and Stoppers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I won two full sets and will never trade them in. These are the nuts and bolts of a rack and i love them. i don't like the new anodized ones and stick to teh bright finish. I've also bought a half set of teh smaller sizes for aiding.


Cliffhanger Hook (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Hooks

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


It's hook, what can i say. It works well, it's stable, but it doesn't shine over anything else.


Talon Hook (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Hooks

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I love this hook because it gives you variety all in teh same piece. It is also extremely stable, so if I have to top step, this is what I like to do it with. It's size does limit it to use on walls or convex structures.


Hexentrics Average Rating = 4.47/5 Average Rating : 4.47/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Hex, tricams, etc

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I bought these for my first rack. I love them, and climb with them to this day. I will take a good hex placement over anything. once you become proficient with them you can use them as chocks or even cam with them. I love them and tell everyone to get a set, or two.


Tri Cam (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.69/5 Average Rating : 4.69/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Hex, tricams, etc

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


these were one of the first pieces of pro i bought for my beginner rack. They are great, hold well, and easy to place with a little practice.


Ocun Cams Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I've bought two full sets of these cams and love them. At first I was a little worried that they came out of teh former soviet block, but they have proven trustworthy. They are as good as metolius Cams, but for half the price. Climbing Magazine did a revue of them a year ago and had a lot of good to say about them.


Camalots (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.49/5 Average Rating : 4.49/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


The best cams on teh market as far as I'm concerned, and I've used them all. Too bad they're so damn expensive. I love the huge range on these cams.


Half Dome Helmet (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 3.35/5 Average Rating : 3.35/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Helmets

Review 1 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I'll never use this helmet again. While guiding, I gave this helmet to a client to use. At the trail head they set their pack down with the helmet strapped to teh outside. The entire back half broke off. The client didn't even drop teh pack. I have to ask, how is that going to protect your head in a fall or from a falling rock?


Ultralight Average Rating = 3.82/5 Average Rating : 3.82/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Helmets

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


This helmet has saved my lifea couple of times. This thing can take a beating and keep on ticking. It rides rather high on the head, but thet's probably why I'm still alive.


Olympus Average Rating = 3.25/5 Average Rating : 3.25/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


This is what I used for my clients when I was guiding. It's saved a few heads form falling rocks. It's not super light, but hey, most of teh people I'm teaching to climb know the difference between a heavy and light helmet.


Elios Helmet (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Helmets

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I have yet to test it's knogin protecting ability, but the low profile and low weight is great.


Basic Multipurpose Ascender (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.89/5 Average Rating : 3.89/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Ascenders

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I own it, but almost never use it. It works well for setting up a haul system to drag up your haul bag, but I don't use it much since my Ascentions work just as well.


Pyramid Belay Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.17/5 Average Rating : 4.17/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I love teh trango pyramid, it's relatively light, but it's so smooth, hold a fall well, and the fins to dissipate heat actually work. These are one of teh oldest style belay devices, and the designs holds up to years of abuse.


Rescue 8 popular Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


As a career firefighter and Recue Technician, I won't use anything else. It's smooth, big, strong, and the ears keep the rope from making a larks head. This 8 really has no use at teh crag, but for rescue situations, it shines. It's also big enough to add more wraps to eth device if you're picking-off a really heavy person.


Grigri Belay Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.24/5 Average Rating : 4.24/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


Whether you're climbing with a nooby or an experienced partner, this is a great belay device. You don't have to worry about a newby dropping you, and your lifetime climbing partner can enjoy the liberty this gives him to eat a little gorp while belaying you. Do keep your brake hand on teh rope while belaying, but certainbly does let your mind rest when you know that your belayer can't drop you. The Grigri is also awesome for bringing up the second on a multi-pitch climb, although it is a little heavy.


Soloist popular Average Rating = 4.89/5 Average Rating : 4.89/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


When you're not working, but everyone else is, there is no better partner. The Soloist is smooth and dependable. Be sure you use a chest harness with it, and you do need to have some sort of weight on teh free end when top-roping (just coil teh extra rope). you defintiely need a good understanding of rope work and camming systems to use teh Soloist safely.


B-52 Belay Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.48/5 Average Rating : 4.48/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


This is all I use now-a-days. It's great, smooth, and so light you don't even notice it. You can even use it as an auto locker. I used to be teh guy that left his belay device behind and used a Munter Hitch just to savce weight, but with as light as this device is, I'll carry it every where.


Denali Evo Ascent (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Snow Shoes

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


These are some great snowshoes. they hold up tp teh abuse I dish out without being so burely that they're heavy. The ascent elevator bar is key. the crampons are very aggresive, enough so that my crampons were feeling neglected. I found it was difficult to ge my my really bulky size 11 Vasque Ice 9000's in the harness, but once I got them in, the harness system held tight. If I could make one improvement to this item, it would be to add some sort of spring to teh pivot point under the foot.


Raven Pro (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.25/5 Average Rating : 4.25/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Ice Axes and Hammers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


I own the 65cm and the 55cm. They are great, and so, so light. I've used them to self arrest myself on multiple occasions and they dug in well, but not so aggresively that it ripped the tool form my hand. The shaft is a good diameter for a solid grip, whiel not being so beefy that you can't get your fingers around it. The adze is small, but very sharp and you have to sacrifice something for the weight. It even climbs short, near vertical alpine ice pretty well.


Rage (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.43/5 Average Rating : 4.43/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Ice Axes and Hammers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


At first I was a little worried about the weight of these tools, but after having climbed with them for 3 years, I don't mind the weight because they are bullet proof. These tools will hold up to anything you can dish out. I like that teh shift is a consistent diameter, which lends itself to choking up on the shaft much easier than some tools that narrow as you approach the head. I've used them for vertical ice as well as mixed. I've dragged them up 14ers and a couple of 20,000' peaks. i would never trade them in. The Cobra Picks are also great, but I suggest filing down teh first tooth.


Speed Screw (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.67/5 Average Rating : 4.67/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


An absolutley great product for the price. I'm a firm believer that if you know how to place a screw, omegas are just as easy to place as BD, but for almost 1/2 the price. Omega also offers great package deals when you buy 4 or more. I use all lengths and have been happy with them all.


Bionic Crampon (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


A little on the heavy side, but they are very easy to adjust and switching between monopoint and dual pint is great. They hold up to the abuse that I dish out and the horizontal design allows them to be used on less vertical terrain also. I have the old style with the shorter secondary front points, I hear that the new ones have longer secondary front points which would be a great improvement.


Calidris Climbing/Mountaineering Harness (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.75/5 Average Rating : 4.75/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Harnesses: Adjustable

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: adamtd, 2005-03-05


This is a good harness but I have had difficulty with keeping the leg loops snug. the one thing that really drives me nuts about this harness is the hook that keeps the leg loop rear risers attched. I find that the rear risers fall down a lot when I wear a pack. Other than those two complaints, teh harness is quite comfortable with a lot of room for adjustmnet which is ideal if you climb in all sorts of conditions and temperatures.