Skip to Content

Gear : Reviews

Reviews by blake_wrinn (53)

> >|

How to Rock Climb! Average Rating = 4.22/5 Average Rating : 4.22/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-13


The newest edition is the best "how to" climbing instruction book i have ever seen!


Dixie Craggers Atlas (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-13


a fantastic, well thought out, guidebook! Two Thumbs Up!


Super Chalk 5 oz. (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.68/5 Average Rating : 3.68/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Chalk Bags: Chalk

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-12


Thats Right! If you want chalk that dries your hands with out a doubt... choose this metolius chalk! it is phenominal! i rarely ever, acctually more close to never, use chalk. i really only use it when bouldering... or when a climb gets very insane causing me to sweat profusly. this chalk has never ever let me down. it's been in my pack for four years.


Coeur Stainless Steel Hanger (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.50/5 Average Rating : 3.50/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Bolts and Hangers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-11


My favorite hanger for sport climbing.


Locking D Carabiner - SMC Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-11


And old school locker. A light workhoarse, but sometimes ones i have have a tendency to get a sticky gate.


William Screwgate Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.57/5 Average Rating : 4.57/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-11


a monsterous gate opening! plus a safety red line that shows when the gate isn't locked. A great safety feature!


Positron Screwgate Biner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.38/5 Average Rating : 4.38/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-11


The best locker for extra safety on protection, or for top rope anchors. same size as a non-locking positron biner but adds a screw lock.


9/16'' Tubular Webbing (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Webbing

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-11


The best size for all your climbing anchor needs.


DS-Plus 24-Volt: The Annihilator (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Tools: Drills

Review 1 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-11


The Annihilator seams like a very appropriate name.


Hand Jammies Average Rating = 3.80/5 Average Rating : 3.80/5

In: Gear: Clothing: Gloves: Climbing gloves

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-11


Very comfortable and really work well. These save so much time and tape!


OvalWire Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.41/5 Average Rating : 4.41/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Ovals

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-11


Take the classic oval but add an easy clipping gate. a great biner to put on your cams or rack your hexes, nuts, ball-nuts, or small tri cams.


Rappel Rings Stainless (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Bolts and Hangers

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-11


A good tool to have on your rack. i'm always finding it good to have while rigging a belay station or setting up top ropes.


Camalot C3 Micro Cam Unit (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-11


Fantastic little cams with way less the price of the Wild country zeros. The best small range cams available!


The Rock Warrior's Way (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.75/5 Average Rating : 4.75/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


This book is geat! it can improve your climbing level atleast one full grade!


32oz Wide Mouth Bottle (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.34/5 Average Rating : 4.34/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories: Water Bottles and Bags

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


a must have for ALL climbers! I threw one off an 80ft bluf, which i had previously filled with water and frozen solid, to the rocks below. a few scratches... some cracked ice, and a slightly scratched but very much intact bottle!


Warrior Board popular Average Rating = 4.20/5 Average Rating : 4.20/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories: Hang Boards

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


Great board! could use more sloppers like the slim gym. The best looking board too! lol.


Miura Shoe (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.79/5 Average Rating : 4.79/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Lace Up

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


The head honcho of sport shoes. The shoe that you love to get a few sizes smaller. A very Technical edging shoe. The perfect shoe for slab!


Climbing Average Rating = 4.22/5 Average Rating : 4.22/5

In: Gear: Media: Magazines

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


my favorite magazine. i love the tech tips. And the gear annual issue is loaded with useful info.


Vertical Frontier (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


This is the coolest climbing video ever! it is so interesting to see how this sport we all love, which this website is based on, was started! from hemp ropes and pitons to speed ascents of El Cap's Nose. it's easier to figure out where we can take climbing if we know where we came from! So fantastically interesting!!! A must own!


Climbing DVD - Touching The Void Average Rating = 4.78/5 Average Rating : 4.78/5

In: Gear: Media: Videos and DVDs: Climbing

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


a truely inspiring story!


ATC-XP Belay Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.46/5 Average Rating : 4.46/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


The best Tube-style device available right now for single pitch routes! Very controlable!


Axis Rope 10.3mm x 60m 70m Average Rating = 3.76/5 Average Rating : 3.76/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Climbing Ropes: Dynamic Single Ropes

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


quite possibly the best rope ever offered for the money. it's amazing the weight difference between a 10.5mm rope and this 10.3mm rope. Very well dry treated also! a fantastic rope for any level. And a phenominal "all around" rope.


C.A.M.P. Ball Nuts (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.57/5 Average Rating : 4.57/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


a wonderful addition to any trad rack! some of the coolest protection available. removable with the simple pull of a trigger. best when used by a person who knows how to set original nuts and stoppers well.


Splitter Climbing Shoe Average Rating = 3.44/5 Average Rating : 3.44/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Lace Up

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


these shoes are my babies. they have a high rubber rand. the rubber even comes up high on the toe of the shoe. the laces near the toe are protected by a layer of suede leather which is covered by sticky rubber for non-snagging while jamming and twisting in cracks. good size rubber-covered heal cup for heal hooking. and a very very comfortable THICK padded tounge. this is a killer all day trad shoe! so comfy! :D


Light D (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Straight Gates and Regular D's

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


Classic, strong, just a plain cool! buy tons of "D"s and "Ovals"! They' re the coolest!


Oval Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.82/5 Average Rating : 3.82/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Ovals

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


Classic, durable, strong! buy them by the box!


Dynotron Straight Anodized (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Bent Gates

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


a good choice for a nice "easy clip" biner.


Jake Screw-Lok popular Average Rating = 4.56/5 Average Rating : 4.56/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


The screw lock on this biner covers practically the entire gate latch. the gate goes slightly sideways to make an even larger opening. they are phenominal.


HMS 2200 Screw (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


I use this locker for my permanent daisy chain biner. my oldest locking biner on my rack. It's one of the best pear shaped biners a have found.


Pacific ISO Cold Forged Five-O Bent Gate Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Bent Gates

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


every time i pull out a cam or hex during a crux with this biner on it, i'm relieved. this is my favorite bent gate on my rack and on the market. huge gate opening and very easy clipping. a bit pricy... but worth it.


Ring Anchor Stainless (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Bolts and Hangers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


THE BEST!


Spirit Carabiner, Anodized (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.74/5 Average Rating : 4.74/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Straight Gates and Regular D's

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


A heck of a biner! Awesomly rope friendly! No doubt that it is one of the BEST 3 biners on the market!!! but man... a little pricy... But if your rack doesn't have one, i strongly suggest you go buy one or two!


Pacific ISO Cold Forged Doval Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.23/5 Average Rating : 4.23/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Wire Biners

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


Great clipping, and VERY rope friendly! favorite non-locking biner on my rack!


Tibloc Ultralight Ascender (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.62/5 Average Rating : 3.62/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Ascenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


wow! INGENIUS! quite possibly the coolest yet primative piece in my rack. cuts prusik time in half!
great for hauling, or hanging around while your taking pictures!


Titan Runners Average Rating = 4.75/5 Average Rating : 4.75/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Webbing: Runners

Review 0 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


the best thing, oh! except the MASSIVE strength, is the variety of sizes and colors! it lets you buy the stongest runner on the market while giving you more choices to fit your wants and needs. good price too!


7 mm x 20 feet Cordalette Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Webbing: Webolettes and cordalettes

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


I enjoy mine very well and use it all the time. the kind i bought also has lumilite woven in the sheath. The lumilite glows in the dark after very short exposure to light. The only problem i have ever had was the length. i could have used it slightly longer in some belay stations.


Oval Screw-Link (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Bolts and Hangers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


Very HUGE load capacity for such a small screw link!


Pacific D Straightgate Anodized Clear (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.70/5 Average Rating : 3.70/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Straight Gates and Regular D's

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


very strong. very well rounded edges for a happy rope!


Positron Bent Gate Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Bent Gates

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


goog biner! rope friendly rounded edges. although they don't clip as well as others, they clip way better than many many biners on the market.


Sheriff Average Rating = 3.94/5 Average Rating : 3.94/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


kicks BD ATC's but. same design. no plastic covered wires to come uncoated and slice-and-dice your rope. thick side walls! makes you feel very safe, whether your belaying or climbing.


Pacific Dirtbag Quickdraw (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.19/5 Average Rating : 3.19/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Quickdraws

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


This quickdraw is a definate bang for the buck! doesn't exactly clip fantastic, but gets the job done! worth the money! go recycle some cans and buy one!


Eclipse Carabiners (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Quickdraws

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


The bent gate version clips like a dream!


Redpoint Open Runner Average Rating = 3.50/5 Average Rating : 3.50/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


build anchors, extendable draws, gear sling. sewn runners are way less bulky than custom made slings out of cut tubular webbing but don't neccessarily come in the EXACT length you need. probally the best runner available for 3-4 dollars.


Spectra Daisy Chain (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


Great Daisy Chain! A fantastic feature is the tubular nylon webbing around the biner loop on the end. a great little saftey feature other daisys don't have!


Cam Lube - 2oz (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


This Cam lube works very well. after you give your cams a good cleaning, dry and apply. although it doesn't last forever, it repells dirt for quite a long time. it cuts the need for cleaning tremondously!


Reverso 3 Belay/Rappel Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.38/5 Average Rating : 4.38/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-10


this belay device it fantastic! Of coarse it works fantastic as a tube style belay device. But it really meets the need of a belay for a second! A second is the climber which comes up after the leader while multi-pitching.


Extractor Nut Tool (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Tools: Nut Tools

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2006-06-07


No text provided


Rocks Nuts Average Rating = 4.48/5 Average Rating : 4.48/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Nuts and Stoppers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2005-08-04


Good shape! Quite versitile. The classic look of nuts. Great price and strength.


Tri Cam (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.69/5 Average Rating : 4.69/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Hex, tricams, etc

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2005-08-04


A ingenious idea. One of the coolest made pieces of passive protection ever! Farely easy to place, and a GREA BARGAIN! Worth every cent.


Anodized Rockcentrics Set (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Hex, tricams, etc

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: blake_wrinn, 2005-08-04


The Best HEX I have ever placed! Easy to place! I also far prefer the slung hexes. You can clip into them with a carabiner or quickdraw and are great for around corners. A WHOLE NEW world of placing hexes. Deffinently deserves a " 5 " !

> >|