Skip to Content

Gear : Reviews

Reviews by dredsovrn (59)

|< <

Flexi Fit cams Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: dredsovrn, 2004-05-04


I picked up 5 for $125. Tough to beat that deal. I don't reach for them first, but they are good cams. They aren't as smooth as the Clogs, Metolius, or BD, but a good value when doubling up on size.


Ultralight TCU (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.29/5 Average Rating : 4.29/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: dredsovrn, 2004-05-04


I love these cams. I have 1-4 and really need to get some more. I run into a lot of horizontal placements and use them all the time. It is rare for me to not use 3 on a trad lead. The trigger action is really smooth.


Curve Hex Average Rating = 4.47/5 Average Rating : 4.47/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Hex, tricams, etc

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: dredsovrn, 2004-05-04


These things rock. I place these all the time, both passive and camming. I don't leave the ground without them. Get the set, you'll want them all.


Clog Cams (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.89/5 Average Rating : 3.89/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: dredsovrn, 2004-05-04


A good product made even better when you find them for $20. So far holding up great even after falls. Not as smooth as metolius and BD though.


Huevos (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.71/5 Average Rating : 4.71/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Nuts and Stoppers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: dredsovrn, 2004-05-04


Can't beat this deal 1-13 for under $50. I bought two sets and use them all the time.


(Old-style) Power Cam (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.34/5 Average Rating : 4.34/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: dredsovrn, 2004-04-09


Up to about size 8 you can't beat them for super smooth, light weight cams.


ATC Belay/Rappel Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.31/5 Average Rating : 4.31/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: dredsovrn, 2004-04-09


My favorite belay device except for half ropes. Great for most single rope climbs.


Camalots (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.49/5 Average Rating : 4.49/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: dredsovrn, 2004-04-09


Hard to beat except for the weight. Top quality, smooth cams with a range to beat the band.


ATC-XP Belay Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.46/5 Average Rating : 4.46/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: dredsovrn, 2004-04-09


Great variation on the classic ATC. A little more friction is possible making it better for todays thinner ropes.

|< <