Skip to Content

Gear : Reviews

Reviews by onbelay510 (58)

> >|

Crocodiles Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Gaiters

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-08-08


An almost impenatrable barrier against the elements.


Freedom of the Hills (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Media: Instructional Books

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-05-31


I constantly see other books that teach a certain technique, but Freedom covers them all. And it covers them well. Well writen, easy to follow illistrations.


Camalot C4 (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.77/5 Average Rating : 4.77/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-05-31


Since I was already a Camalot fan, I thought the C4's would be a good addition to my rack. I was immediately impressed by the weight difference vs. the older model. Same smooth Camalot feel too. My only complaint is the thumb catch, which could use more aggressive teeth.


Momentum Adjustable Harness (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.05/5 Average Rating : 4.05/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Harnesses: Adjustable

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-05-31


The best harness for the money. Period. I spent all day hanging and climbing in this harness with no problems at all. I would give it a 5, but the gear loops on the new model seem to have shrunk.


Hexentrics Average Rating = 4.47/5 Average Rating : 4.47/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Hex, tricams, etc

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-05-31


I pick up one of the old unanodized hexes for really cheap, so I though I'd finish out the set. I just bought the new ones and hacked the wires off. I slung em' with cord and I like that way better. I didn't really think I would end up using them much, but I was wrong. They work great.


Zenith (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.54/5 Average Rating : 3.54/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Harnesses: Adjustable

Review 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-05-11


Doesn't fit me very well, so comfort is non-existant. The gear loops are too far forward so your draws end up in your crotch. It doesn't have a haul loop either. I just keep it around as an extra, don't use it myself.


Aliens popular Average Rating = 4.73/5 Average Rating : 4.73/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-05-02


When you first pick them up they look kind of goofy compared to alot of cams. But it ends there. Great finger crack protection. They seem to fit just perfectly and the super flexible stem keeps them right where you put them. My tax return this year will be spent on as many Aliens as I can get.


Nuptse Jacket (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.67/5 Average Rating : 4.67/5

In: Gear: Clothing: Men's Clothing: Men's Outerwear: Men's Soft Shell Jackets-Liners

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-25


Very warm jacket. Got mine for $140 on sale. Packs down into the pocket for ease of carrying.


Titan Runners Average Rating = 4.75/5 Average Rating : 4.75/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Webbing: Runners

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-25


Shaves some bulk over standard runners. Easier to work with and very strong


Forged Friends (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 3.95/5 Average Rating : 3.95/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-19


The larger sizes are great for large parallel sided cracks. You don't have to worry about the stem that way. The rigid stem make them easy to place but the thumb knob could use more texture. I fixed this with the tape I use for crack gloves. I also looped a strip around each end of the trigger bar for more grip there too. You also have to be very careful not to overcam them, I had one get stuck a couple of weeks ago. Overall, the price makes them hard to beat in the larger sizes.


Camalots (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.49/5 Average Rating : 4.49/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-19


Camalots seem to be the smoothest cams I've used. The large head width is very confidence inspiring below your feet. These are my choice for .75 and up. Weight seems to be the only real issue, but the C4's have solved that. Great cams.


Rocks Nuts Average Rating = 4.48/5 Average Rating : 4.48/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Nuts and Stoppers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-19


I really like these nuts. If one side doesn't quite fit, you can usually turn them for a better placement. Nice taper, and they hold well. Good basic nut.


Hiking (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-11


These are the best socks I've ever worn. They don't itch, you can machine dry them, and they're not too bulky.


Light D (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Straight Gates and Regular D's

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-06


Light and strong, but with a small gate opening compared to many carabiners.


Lightweight Wire gate's (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.25/5 Average Rating : 4.25/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-03


I have eight of these on 'draws and haven't had any gripes with them. I like the feel of the BD Hotwires better but these are lighter.


X-Comp Straight (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.50/5 Average Rating : 3.50/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-03


These aren't bad for the hanger end of draws, but they're a little heavy and the gate could be smoother.


Quicksilver2 Straight Gate Biner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Straight Gates and Regular D's

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-03


A workhorse with a smooth gate. Just fine for me.


X-Comp Bent (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-03


Seems more difficult to clip than others. I have some on draws, but reach for something else if I can when pumped.


Buck Knife Approach Folder (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.80/5 Average Rating : 3.80/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-03


Great knife for climbing or even everyday use. Sharp too, gave myself a nice gash in the thumb when it slipped. My fault though.


Oxygen Clean-Lock - Straight gate (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.25/5 Average Rating : 4.25/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Straight Gates and Regular D's

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-03


Opposed to other snag free 'biners, this one seems to let things snag on the gate if not held open all the way. Nevertheless a nice 'biner.


Adjustable Double-D Gear Sling (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.12/5 Average Rating : 4.12/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Webbing: Slings

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2005-01-03


This gear sling is really comfy. The sectioned loops distribute weight more evenly than the old design. I didn't like the extra loop at first but you just have to configure it so that it works for you.


Aurora Average Rating = 3.90/5 Average Rating : 3.90/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Lighting: Headlamps: LED Lamps

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-11-24


A great little LED headlamp. Comes in handy for working in the attic or anywhere there isn't light. Oh yeah, works for climbing too.


Mt Tam low (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Approach Shoes

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-11-24


Nice comfortable shoes, good traction. It would be nice if they were waterproof but that would put these shoes in a different catagory.


Venture Jacket (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-11-24


Great lightweight waterproof breathable shell. You have to unzip the main zipper a little to take the hood on or off, which is kind of annoying. Other than that it's a great jacket.


Unbottle 100 oz - True Blue/Graphite (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.50/5 Average Rating : 3.50/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories: Water Bottles and Bags

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-11-24


It's a good idea...however, three liters of water takes up alot of room in your pack. If I had to choose between a couple Nalgenes on the outside, it would be the Nalgenes. But if space isn't an issue, it's a great product.


Hotwire Wiregate Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.31/5 Average Rating : 4.31/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Wire Biners

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-11-19


I use these as the rope end of draws and for cams and slung hexs. The are the easiest clipping biner I've used.


Rack Tags (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories: Climbing Accessories

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-11-19


These things are great. Lots of cool colors and their cheap too. Easy to apply and long lasting.


Degre Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Boots

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-11-15


20 bucks at an REI Scratch-n-Dent Sale. Enough said.


Stainless Steel Bolt Hanger (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Bolts and Hangers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-19


Easy clips, strong. I've trusted my life to these hangers many times.


Mojave (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.62/5 Average Rating : 3.62/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-19


Good performance. The pull tabs rub the heel really bad. They also turn your feet orange, but I can't complain about that. They're a decent all-around shoe. I personally don't own them but I've used my buddy's many times.


Splashguard Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-19


Great product. You no longer need to stop to drink without spilling all over yourself.


Unbreakable-Rental Shoe (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.33/5 Average Rating : 3.33/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-19


Not a bad shoe for indoor use. I've climbed in them several times and they seem decent. Perfect for beginers because they have nasty foot technique which wear down shoes quickly.


Ecrin Roc Helmet (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.64/5 Average Rating : 4.64/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Helmets

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-19


The classic standard of mountaineering helmets. We use these all the time in rescue too. I love mine. It has great adjustability, it's not too heavy, and I like the suspension system way more than foam. If I had one gripe it would be the chin strap, which could be more comfortable.


OvalWire Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.41/5 Average Rating : 4.41/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Ovals

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-19


I've always liked the classic oval shape, but didn't like the sacrificed strength. These biners seem to remedy that situation. The rope bearing surface isn't very big though, so I don't know if I'd want to take a huge fall on one.


Grigri Belay Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.24/5 Average Rating : 4.24/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-18


I've used one at the gym many times. I don't particularly like it. It's heavy, hard to lower, locks off when you don't want it to, and only works on a single rope. Did I mention it was expensive?


ATC Belay/Rappel Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.31/5 Average Rating : 4.31/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-18


My partner has one and swears by it. I've used it a few times and I can't find anything wrong with it. It's a classic.


Rescue 8 popular Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-18


Not much use for recreational climbing, but we pull it out for some crazy raps. We use these in SAR all the time. If your going to use it for rescue, buy a steel one, it will last a lot longer. (I think that's required anyway)


A.T.C. (from Nelson Sports) (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 2.75/5 Average Rating : 2.75/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-18


Though I've never belay with this device, I've been on the climbing end enough to know that it sucks. It has the jerkiest lower of any device I've ever used. My brother got one in a package from Acme. Don't buy one.


Standard Nylon (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.17/5 Average Rating : 4.17/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-13


I really like these draws. I wish I would've bought the wire gates though, I prefer the way they clip when pumped. Great draws.


Locking D Carabiner - SMC Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-13


I got 4 of these in a rope package from ACME. The gate is a little stiff for my preference. The opening is also a little small. However, the collar is really smooth. They're a decent biner.


Standard Oval Average Rating = 3.17/5 Average Rating : 3.17/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Ovals

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-13


Higher strength rating than the BD, but uglier and not as easy to use. I pull these when I need something bomber, but I like the feel of the classic oval design better.


Quicksilver2/HotWire Straitjacket Anodized Quickdraw (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.71/5 Average Rating : 4.71/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Quickdraws

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-13


Great draws. The wiregate is the easiest clipping biner I own. I have the 18cm version. Love 'em


Ropemaster Rope Bag (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.62/5 Average Rating : 4.62/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Climbing Ropes: Rope Bags and Tarps

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-13


Great rope bag. I would've bought the Roperanger but didn't have the money. Now it's on sale at REI for less. Oh well. The ropemaster is my recommendation to anyone.


Flash Velcro Climbing Slipper (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.04/5 Average Rating : 4.04/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Velcro

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-13


Not a bad shoe. Performance is great. Durability seems to be an issue though. Mine seem to be falling apart rather quickly. I haven't climbed in mine more than a dozen times and there's already a small hole in the rand near the big toe. My edges are wearing quickly too. It's a good shoe for the money, but I would suggest spending more on a better shoe. Updated 1/05. Edges almost gone, the tear in the rand is an inch long, and wearing a hole in toe. Buy different shoes, or buy two pair at a time.


Oval Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.82/5 Average Rating : 3.82/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Ovals

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-12


Not the lightest or the strongest, but they serve thier purpose well. They're great for racking gear or setting up anchor cause they don't shift.


Competition Cylinder (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-12


Best chalk bag I've ever used, but REI sent me a cow print one! I was pissed. But I didn't want to ship it back. So I have a cow print chalk bag.


Super Chalk Sock - Refillable (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Chalk Bags: Chalk

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-12


Doesn't make a mess, and it's refillable!


32oz Wide Mouth Bottle (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.34/5 Average Rating : 4.34/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories: Water Bottles and Bags

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-10-12


I wish I had invented these. I have a bunch and they work great for anything. They get dropped, kicked around, but only a few scratches. I love 'em.


Hollowpoint Backpack - 1220cu in (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Backpacks: Daypacks

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-09-30


This is a great pack. I use it everyday for work and school and for cragging on the weekends. In fact its sitting next to me right now. It looked really small when I pulled it out of the box but I was amazed at what it could hold. I can store all my school stuff or my entire rack, shoes, chalk bag Nalgenes, food, a fleece etc. It just swallows everything up. And it has great features like a hydration port and sternum belt. The padded back panel is also a real plus. 5 out of 5.


Pursuit 4000 (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: onbelay510, 2004-09-30


This is a great pack. I got it for 110 and it is a great value. My only gripe is the way the ice axe loop is located with nothing to hold on the top. I use the elastic straps but it would be nice to have a Velcro closure or something.

> >|