Skip to Content

Gear : Reviews

Reviews by sarcat (80)

> >|

Technical Friends Camming Devices Average Rating = 4.57/5 Average Rating : 4.57/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2005-07-15


Being a noob trad-tard I've only started to scratch mine up. so far I love them compared to the old !@#$ my buddies make me climb with. I'm giving a 5 because they're what I'm stuck with like it or not and I want to make myself feel good about all the $$ I spent.


Eclipse Pro (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2005-06-30


I got the Pro over the standard model for the leveler bubble. I could have gotten the 8040G and been fine but I had to one up my SAR friends. Now I need to REALLY learn how to use the thing.


eTrex Legend (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2005-06-30


I bought it because the Summit I've had for 6 years is finally out of date to where I could justify getting a new one. And since I feel Garmin is the easiest to use so I went with another Garmin. I've seen lot's of others used in SAR but I usually kick but when it comes to fast coordinates and navigation.


Rappel Rings Stainless (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Bolts and Hangers

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2005-06-30


I buy them because they feel bomber compared to the aluminum rings. I've left a few at the base of trees so if you see one it's mine. I use only one instead of two like everyone else.


SBG II (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.19/5 Average Rating : 4.19/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2005-06-30


This device is very versitle. the 2 different "friciton settings" make it nice for fat or thin ropes. Also the two attachment point for increased/decreased friction in the solid handle are nice. You can even wrap the thing like an 8 if you want if sinlge roped. It's good at everything but for plan old rapelling I'll continue to use an ATC.


Crocodiles Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Gaiters

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-10-28


I purchase my first pair about 5 years ago and just retired them and got another pair. I've used them for duck hunting, hiking in both the summer and winter and snowshoeing/ice climbing.

Make sure you get the right size to fit over your boots you intend to use them with. A "L" fit over my hiking boots nicely but not over my ice climbing boots. I had to buy an "XL"


Camalot C3 Micro Cam Unit (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-10-27


Just starting into the world of trad and just purchased 2 of each Micro Cam size. For the price I couldn't pass them up. Maybe it's because I live down the street from BD but I really like their stuff. They always feel quality built.


ProWire Average Rating = 4.40/5 Average Rating : 4.40/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Wire Biners

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-10-14


I got one of each color to rack all the DMM Wal-nuts I just got on. I find them easy to clip to and unclip from a gear sling or loop. The are very light and have a smooth gate feel. Almost wish I had purchased all DMM when I was building my sport rack a few years ago.


Fixe Pulley (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.67/5 Average Rating : 3.67/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Pulleys

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-07-21


I purchased one for river crossing by fixed rope. I keep it with a biner and a 24" sling in my life jacket. Only used it twice and it's accomplished what was intended.


TECHNICAL RESCUE HARNESS. (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-07-19


I was issued one. I wouldn't purchase it if it were my choice. Feels bomber but way un-cumfy.


HDPE, Multi, Screw Caps (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-07-19


These little bottles are cool for keeping liquids in or water out. I've purchased at least 5 sets of these over the years and keep vitamins, oil, salt/pepper etc. in them. They are way more sturdy than the 'travel' containers of retail products. Cheaper to fill also.


Land Shark (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 1.00/5 Average Rating : 1.00/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Approach Shoes

Review 1 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-07-19


I used to always by Teva but I thought I'd try something different. The strapping on this shoe is way comfy but the sole is NOT STIFF enough for lots of walking. I like the Teva as approach shoes but these just aren't cutting it. I'll get Tevas the next time and also save some cash.


Paramount Convertible Pant (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.25/5 Average Rating : 3.25/5

In: Gear: Clothing: Men's Clothing: Men's Bottoms

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-07-19


I purchased one pair about a month ago and have since purchased 2 more. For hot summer hikes where shorts are not an option these are great. They're light and dry quickly. I like all the pockets expecially the deep front pockets.


Adjustable Double-D Gear Sling (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.12/5 Average Rating : 4.12/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Webbing: Slings

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-06-18


I had just the Double-D and purchased the other side for $6.50. I like the add on because it makes the sling fit tighter so it dosn't slip around.


Astro (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-06-08


I like the size and weight. It's very compact. I keep it in my rescue pack for the possibility of an overnight situation. You'll always have to keep several new mantels because they fall off easily.


Forearm Trainer Average Rating = 3.25/5 Average Rating : 3.25/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories: Training

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-06-07


I keep mine on the emergency brake lever in the car. I use it from time to time. The sad thing about it is it reminds me of climbing when I'm driving to work. Not it's fault.


32oz Wide Mouth Bottle (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.34/5 Average Rating : 4.34/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories: Water Bottles and Bags

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-28


I have 7.
The only drawback is that when you open one there are always dribbles that fall on your shirt from the threads.


Positron Screwgate Biner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.38/5 Average Rating : 4.38/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-26


Just got them for the ends of daisys. Their light and didn't cost to much. So far so good. I like how they can close with one even flick if you get it right.

I just got 4 more. Still love them and moved my vote to a 5.


Rocpec hand drill (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 3.60/5 Average Rating : 3.60/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Tools: Drills

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-25


Only hand drill I've used so can't compare to the others. I like this one well enough when I HAVE to use a hand drill. Good knuckle protection. I question how long it'll hold up.


Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

In: Gear

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-25


No text provided


Raven Ice Axe (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.33/5 Average Rating : 3.33/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Ice Axes and Hammers

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-24


I like mine. It's light for sure. Make sure you get it long enough for your height. It feels strong and supportive. I've built anchors off of it and they were bomber. The head is comfy to hold onto all day.


Fuel Bottles (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.80/5 Average Rating : 3.80/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Stoves: Fuel and Accessories

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-24


Like others have said they dent easily. They are light and have always sealed fine.


SnoBowl (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-24


I have one for under the ski coat. It's fine for cold drinks but the several times I've tried warm chocolate it didn't do so well. Concept is fine but I hate looking like some hunchback with the thing on. My 9 year old thinks it's "hers" because I have the H.A.W.G. also.


H.A.W.G. NV Hydration Pack (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Backpacks: Hydration Packs

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-24


I've hadan older one for about 3 years now. I use it for day hikes and 4-wheeling trips. 100oz. is tons and the storage is great for just the right amount of stuff for a day hike. The little side pockets are great for emergency gear.


Rescue Rope Bag #3 (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-20


I have one that was given to me for a SAR team 200'er. It's a stiff bag and dosen't have any places for attaching anything. The chest straps are thin and when hiking it up a mountain start to "dig in". The Material is bomber however and the tow loops on the top would make it a decent wall bag.


Chugach Pro Shovel (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-20


I have a small Black Diamond shovel I take to the back country but I use this one if I can in a Search and Rescue situation. It's heavy for sure but bomber in the hard show of an avalanche.


Backcountry Access Tracker DTS Avalanche Beacon (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.75/5 Average Rating : 4.75/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Avalanche Safety: Beacons

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-20


I've had mine for 3 years. It's easy to use and has features that make it nicer than ones I've seen buddies use. Last year I noticed that it was not directioning correctly in search mode so I sent it to BCA. Within days they had a new one to me. Apperently I had dropped it pretty hard?? Regardless like any beacon it's only as good as it's user. Get out there and practice with your mountaineering friends.


Super Chalk Sock - Refillable (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Chalk Bags: Chalk

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-20


I like it because now I don't "snow" all over the place. It's easy to put a few fingers on so you don't have to dip as far into the bag. Nice that it's refillable unlike the old Bison ball I had.


Peak Illuminator (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-17


I have one for very light backpacking and keep it in my over night rescue pack. It's light for sure and lights easy with the piezo electric clicker. Bring plenty of extra mantels cause they always fall of in the pack. That's why I only give it a 3.


Light Shot (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-17


I have this for ultra light back packing. It burns at any elevation I've had it at (14.000' is the highest). The pezio-electric clicker thingy takes a few tries when it's cold and it MUST be aligned properly or it dosen't work at all. It's very light weight. Make sure you get the snap on foot for the cannisters that comes with it.


Mountain (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Snow Shoes

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-17


The Tubbs I have are 9"x36" long to get me and 35lbs of gear around in deep powder. If I or my gear were lighter I'd do the 8"x30" The binding is easy to get off but takes some adjusting for tight fit when putting them on. I've used them on 3 different boots and after adjusting they fit nicely on all 3. After lots of abuse none of the rivets have ever popped and nothing has ever broken.


ProSeries Load Release Strap (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-17


CMC makes some good stuff and this LRH setup is the stronges I've see comercially. There are others that are smaller but not as strong.


Klettersteig Screwgate Carabiner - Steel Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-17


DMM being my favorite brand when I needed some steel biners for 40+kn rating I looked for what DMM makes. They have a wide variety of sizes and gate options in steel. This biner is VERY heavy and not for general mountaineering use. More than 2 and you'll need a pac-mule to get them anywhere.


Big Boa HMS I Beam Keylock Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners: Auto-lockers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-17


For autolockers I only buy the DMM. I like the action and the thick steel gate. I've 6 of these on my rescue rack because they meet the NFPA standard of 28kn.


Quicksilver Carabiner - Bent (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Bent Gates

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-17


Just like I put in for the straight gate these are on all my draws. love them and contiune to buy them for where ever clipping is going to happen.

I've tried some of the newer biners for clipping and will admit SOME of the newer are more smooth. But for cost and uniformity I still get these.


Quicksilver2 Straight Gate Biner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Non-Locking Carabiners: Straight Gates and Regular D's

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-17


When I built all my draws 8 years ago the top biner was the BD Quicksilver II straight gates. I still love them and contiune to buy them for all my no-locking needs. Cost is usually good. I just purchase 10 for $48 of a site.


Yosemite Hammer (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Tools: Hammers

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-05-17


I needed a hammer for all the typical reasons. Probably should have gotten a 26oz. sledge and put a hole in the handle. Could have purchased 3 for the bones shelled out for this hammer. I got it for the looks. What's money anyway?


HMS Autolock Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-04-14


This is my favorite biner of all time. I use them all over because of the large gate opening and the ease of opening the gate even when sketched. I have 8 and just ordered 4 more.


Double Ring Anchor Plate Steel (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Bolts and Hangers

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-04-08


These are what I use because they can be purchased in many colors to camouflage them. I like the doubles to make it easy to attach a screw link (quick link).


Torrent ARC Rope 10.5MM x 70M (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Climbing Ropes: Dynamic Single Ropes

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-04-08


This will be my 4th rope. I got it because for the price it's unbeatable. Duo-pattern and dry!. It's more stiff than the Mammut that was #3 but about the same as the first two ropes I had that were both Maxim.


Basic Multipurpose Ascender (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.89/5 Average Rating : 3.89/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Ascenders

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-03-05


Works for self belay on a fixed rope like the discription states. If you want somthing more secure I'd get the Rescuecender. I've used it as a gear haul and rigged it to work much like the Pantin.


Ascension Handled Ascender (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.53/5 Average Rating : 4.53/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Ascenders

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-03-04


Have lefty and righty. I've used them on fixed traverses and like how they come on/off the rope eaisily. Great agressive teeth. Wonder what they'd do on a shock load?


Tibloc Ultralight Ascender (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.62/5 Average Rating : 3.62/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Ascenders

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-03-04


Small and out of the way. I hook it to the biner that holds on my chalk bag. Never had to use it but it's small and never noticable. Ive tied a piece of accessory cord to it and the biner so they don't get separated.


Flight Pant (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-03-04


Put them on for ice climbing. They've never lost their water-proof-ness. The cover on the inside ankle does little for cramp-on protection. Love the soft inside of the rear pocket however.


Pumori Jacket (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-03-04


I've had this jacket for some time nd love it. Great pockets for things and has taken abuse from snow, climbing, caves, kids and scouts.


Zipka (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.70/5 Average Rating : 3.70/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Lighting: Headlamps: LED Lamps

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-03-04


I have this one and the Tikka. Don't care for the zip cord thing to much when trying to use it on a cap. On a helmet seems like it'll fall off eaisier than a bungee web one would.


Laser Average Rating = 2.80/5 Average Rating : 2.80/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-03-04


I've never gotten these to fit right. I've even soaked them and wore them around the house for a few hours. Ouch! I have other shoes I wear.


WindStopper Tech (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-03-04


Use them for ice all the time. They are thin and tight so they make using express screws not so bad. They are a bit expensive. They are also difficult to get off because the cuff is so tight. On approches I usually wear expidition glove covers over them.


Turbo express Ice screw (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.92/5 Average Rating : 3.92/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Ice Protection

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-03-04


Got all mine on sale for 38.00. I does have a small handle but would you rather have no handle? I've got 3 sizes for all screwing needs. They do place quick. I use some thing gloves to overcome the small handle.


Iron Hand Belay Glove Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Clothing: Gloves: Climbing gloves

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: sarcat, 2004-03-04


I used to have glove w/fingers but hated them for tieing knots. I love these because I purchased them ver tight and they've streached to a perfect custom fit. The attechment loop is very durable and I'm not afraid they'll break like other brands. Great all around glove for all situations. With the open finger while your buddy is hangdoggin' you can pick your _ _ _ _ ,

> >|