Skip to Content

Gear : Reviews

Reviews by scubasnyder (144)

> >|

G2 Nitrolon (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2006-05-15


Awsome flashlight, Extremely bright, This is the brightest flashlight for its size, downfall is it only last about an hour. Also with this light you can get an additional reflector and light bulb which is even brighter. These flashlights can also take some abuse, when storing this flashlight be sure to unscrew both ends or it will kill the batteries, But overall this is the best flashlight for its size.


Mojo Short Average Rating = 4.78/5 Average Rating : 4.78/5

In: Gear: Clothing: Men's Clothing: Men's Bottoms

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2006-05-15


Mainly got these Shorts for swimming because they are 100% polyester which would make them dry fast, but they are very comfotable and the only drawback is they dont stretch but they are awsome for hiking and some climbing, but best feature I think is they dry extremely fast, its a shame the pockets are netted.


PocketRocket Stove (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Stoves: Canister Mounted

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2006-02-26


awsome stove, but better if you equip it with the self ignighter, only problem is its hard to use if there is no flat surface, but recently on my trip to the everglades this was an awsome stove especialy for quick set up.


Udder Delight (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2005-02-28


This is meant for cows udders and other animal parts, but this is awsome for your hands, its not all slimy like every other hand lotion, this stuff kinda soaks in, you have to try it to understand, and most important its pretty cheap.


Micros Set 2 (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2005-02-14


these holds are pretty awsome, good friction, my favorite is the 2 finger pocket but also the one crimp is nice.


Titan Titanium Fork and Spoon (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Cookware

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2005-02-07


i got a snowpeak titanium spork for 10 bucks, but this was a better deal and i dont have to use that crappy spork ever again, no need rant about this, its just a fork and spoon just a little lighter.


Sphynx (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.80/5 Average Rating : 4.80/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Backpacks: Backpacking Packs

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2005-02-07


I have the 35L and it works great for haulin gear around, the internal seat is nice as well as the heavily padded back (to keep trad gear from poking you), also there are many differnt places to attach tents to it with caribingers and there is a nice rope holder that fits right under the top cover, and it being waterproof is even better, only thing i wish to be different would be for it to have another internal pocket besides the one for the hydration pack, but over-all i think this is the best pack ive seen for the money and its so comfortable even with a bunch of gear in.


Verve YOJIMBO PANT (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2005-01-15


great pants, just like the ghost pants by verve, very comfortable and pretty durable.


Flex Cams Average Rating = 3.79/5 Average Rating : 3.79/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-26


these cams are ok, the fact you can take this cam apart yourself somewhat scares me, also the trigger is somewhat small in length, the one thing i really like about these though it doesnt show in the picture, maybe their the new version, is the extending webbing, its a good design.


Climbing DVD - Masters Of Stone 5 Average Rating = 4.73/5 Average Rating : 4.73/5

In: Gear: Media: Videos and DVDs: Climbing

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-26


one of the craziest and best climbing video's ive ever seen, crazy 3000 foot solo's and lots of other insane climbing.


Quest Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-25


pretty bright, lasts i think 8 hours on one set of batteries, lifetime warranty, good thing to buy for 20 bucks in my mind.


Climbing DVD - Front Range Freaks Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Media: Videos and DVDs: Climbing

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-25


Best climbing ive seen so far, its a great film besides all the climbing, i like the buildering.


Sphynx Backpack - 1953-2563cu in (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.60/5 Average Rating : 4.60/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Backpacks: Daypacks

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-25


Best pack ive ever had, lots of places to clip extra gear, has a spot for a hydration pack, and its waterproof. Any questions pm me.


Hydromedary™ Hydration System (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories: Water Bottles and Bags

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-25


Only reason i got this instead of my camelbak is because it hooks up to my msr water filter, the bite valve is a little weird but the camelbak tube is compatable. good for drying as well because you can hang out from the bottom.


Camalot C4 (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.77/5 Average Rating : 4.77/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-20


These are better than the old BD cams, they are pretty light but the new loops is whats best, easier to work, and it looks nicer, not that that matters.


Pilgrimage (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.44/5 Average Rating : 4.44/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-20


I thought it was an ok video, needed a bit more climbing in it but it was still intresting to see some sick stuff come out of the video.


Flow Stone Screw-On Hands 10pk. Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-14


These handholds are pretty nice have some flaws like the holds seem to be a little polished, but other than that they are great


HDPE, Multi, Screw Caps (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-14


these are great little bottles to put spices and such inside, they are pretty durable as well, a little too small sometimes i say to myself but thats about the only drawback.


impulse Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-14


Great if u like to wear a hat, thing is sweet just to have on your keychain, waterproof and its pretty bright. I recommend getting one if you have the chance.


Pilot (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-14


This is a sweet accessory for your headlamp, fits right on just in case it dies on you. its pretty bright as well, good for saving battery life for trail walking as well.


Impact II (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-12-14


This thing a bit better than the older model the attitude, its the same light but now there is one brighter led with a weird lens design, pretty bright and it last 75+ hours so its nice for keeping in ur pack just in case.


Borealis 0°F (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


This is good cheap sleeping bag, big zipper, and it has pretty good draft tube in it. Doesnt weigh too much, but it doesnt pack small enough.


Gore-Tex socks (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


These are the best waterproof socks on the market in my opinion, they dont leak, they are easy to clean and they are great in cold weather and a little warm in the summer.


Climbing DVD - Touching The Void Average Rating = 4.78/5 Average Rating : 4.78/5

In: Gear: Media: Videos and DVDs: Climbing

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


This is a good movie, id recommend buying it, better than K2 for sure, i mean at least it doesnt have weird music in it like K2


Descending Ring (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.67/5 Average Rating : 3.67/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Bolts and Hangers

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


This is a good Descending Ring but I always use 2 when putting these up, ive recently started using stainless steel fix descending rings, they seem more trustworthy and i feel i only need one


Rappel Rings Stainless (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Bolts and Hangers

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


I agree with tech_dog on the strong part and only needing one, these things are indestructable in my mind.


Stainless Steel Bolt Hanger (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Bolts and Hangers

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


This is a nice cheap hanger, everyone said easy clips, but ive had better i must say, they seem to be a little smaller than some of the FIX hangers ive put up, but what from I saw Ill probaly buy more of these.


Quicksilver Quickdraw (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.38/5 Average Rating : 4.38/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Quickdraws

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


These are sweet, i just wish the webbing was as wide as the old quickdraws, it just worries me that the webbing is so thin, sharp rock can eat them alive, if someone placed some bolts in bad areas.


William Ball Lock (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.67/5 Average Rating : 3.67/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


This is a great belay biner, the only problem is when the biner starts to get some dirt under plastic part it starts to get stuck and hard to work(only have the plastic gate one)


AmD Triact-Lock Carabiner popular Average Rating = 3.75/5 Average Rating : 3.75/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


This is a great biner at first, but after having it for a while the plastic part gets stuck and hard to work from chalk getting in and other grime.


Rescue Pulley (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Pulleys

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


This is an awsome pully, you can haul basically anything with it, works good for top ropes, and is really fast on a zipline.


Fixe Pulley (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.67/5 Average Rating : 3.67/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Pulleys

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-24


ive used this pully a few times for hauling some gear and thats probably all its really useful for, or u could use it for a nice zipline, but im not sure how well it would work.


Corona Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-23


This is an awsome headlamp, it has 2 buttons on it to change different setting, and it is very bright. This thing is pretty sick, it has a heat sink behind the 8 L.E.D's that lets the light not overheat, also if it would start to overhead the headlamp reduced power so the light doesnt get destroyed. You can also get this on policeGearUSA.com for about 37.00 dollars without shipping


Lorpen (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-09


These are some good socks, there are different types for different terrain and weather, check them out


Vasque Catylyst (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.67/5 Average Rating : 4.67/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Approach Shoes

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-09


These shoes are awsome, they have stealth rubber. They grip like no other shoe ive ever had, if you dont have them get them. There is even a gore-tex model.


Seattle Sombrero (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-01


This is a sweet hat, for keeping the rain off your head, but i had to sell the hat, its uncomfortable to wear in summer months. The gore-tex makes the hat extremely hot and not breathable as they state, but the hats still pretty sweet.


SealSkinz-WaterBlocker (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-11-01


These were great when i first had them but eventually the material inside bunched up in the heel and was uncofortable and eventually they leaked, I now have a Gore-Tex sock made by rocky footwear that is much better.


Matrix Ziplock (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Harnesses: Adjustable

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-10-10


This harness, not for me, it wasnt too comfortable, lots of gear loops and everything but just a good fit on me.


V10 (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.55/5 Average Rating : 4.55/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Slippers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-08-29


These are the best pair of shoes ive had so far, i like them a lot better than the dragons i have, the rubber seems to be a little thicker than on the dragons as well. Price is a bit steep but they are definatly worth the money in my mind.


Tikka Average Rating = 4.20/5 Average Rating : 4.20/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-08-28


This is a good light for the size but there are brighter 3 led light headlamps for the same price or cheaper i recommend the princeton tec Aurora.


Zipka (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.70/5 Average Rating : 3.70/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Lighting: Headlamps: LED Lamps

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-08-28


This is a good light, because of the size and weight, other than that i would rather have the princeton tec Aurora because its brighter and its waterproof.


Heal My Hands (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-08-28


This stuff works pretty well so far, ive had it for about a month, only problem is its a little greasy at first on your hands, good after a long day of climbing.


Splashguard Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-08-20


This is a great product for many reasons, keeps from spilling all over your face and it works great for measureing water for making different types of freeze dried food.


OtterBox (Many Sizes) (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-08-20


A great product to protect cell phones or cameras from getting wet or damaged, you can find one of these cases for just about anything you need to protect.


PackTowl Ultralite (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.67/5 Average Rating : 4.67/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: More Stuff: Camping Accessories

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-08-20


Very light and compact absorbs water very well, good for drying sweat off your face. Pretty durable, some of the other packtowls feel better to touch but this is probably the best one because of how light it is.


Packtowl Personal Towels (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: More Stuff: Camping Accessories

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-08-20


This is great for longer camping trips, feels much better to the touch than the ultralite packtowl. Pretty durable and is good to dry off with. Very light and you can use the little strap to wrap the towl into a small compact size.


Average Rating = 0.00/5 Average Rating : 0.00/5

In: Gear

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-08-06


This things pretty sweet, mainly use it for making mountain house, good to drink from too, dont have to worry about spillying water.


Vision (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-07-21


This bag is pretty good for cold weather, the best thing about it is the lightweight, they are a bit pricy though i took mine back because i found a nice 0 degree bag for much cheaper.


Isopro Canister Fuel 8oz (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Stoves: Fuel and Accessories

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-07-21


These canisters are good for short trips, i usually carry the smaller one it lasts for a bunch of meals. Not as cheap as white gas but it works, + you dont have to prime the stove.


Exstream Purifier Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: scubasnyder, 2004-07-21


This bottle is ok for emergencies, id rather only use this if i really had too, definatly not as a main water purifier. Make sure if you get this you put a few bottle of water through before you drink it or you'll get a mouth full of carbon.

> >|