Skip to Content

Gear : Reviews

Reviews by taraus_de_bull (44)


Marathon 10.3 Average Rating = 4.29/5 Average Rating : 4.29/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-05-04


Handles extremely well. Could be a little more durable. The shealth abraides easier then my bluewater ropes.


Aliens popular Average Rating = 4.73/5 Average Rating : 4.73/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-05-04


I have the three smallest sizes. black, blue, & green. I wouldn't climb with out them, they freakin rule.


Ascension Handled Ascender (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.53/5 Average Rating : 4.53/5

In: Gear: Add-On Climbing Gear: Ascenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-05-04


Easy on, Easy off. Workes very good and clamps nicely. I've had no problems with it at all.


Miura Shoe (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.79/5 Average Rating : 4.79/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Lace Up

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-16


I only used them a bit, but i loved them, they fit my foot awesomely. They were a high performance shoe and i could definately crank with them. Nice performace lace up!!!


Anasazi Moccasym Climbing Shoes (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.48/5 Average Rating : 4.48/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Slippers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-16


Very awesome slippers. They are very comfortable to wear all day, i love them when i trad climb. Size a little smaller i would imagine they would be great for sport or bouldering but i prefer the security of velco or laces.


Elios Helmet (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Helmets

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-16


Well i'm not a big helmet person, but this guy is nice and smaller then most, so its not terrible to wear. I haven't worn a petzl meteor so for now this is my fav helmet but the petzl looks a bit more compact and possible nicer.


Turbo express Ice screw (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.92/5 Average Rating : 3.92/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Ice Protection

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-16


Sweet screws, the turbo is awesome, goes in so fast and comes out even quicker with the little handle. Very awesome product.


Quark Ergo (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Ice Axes and Hammers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-16


What a freakin awesome tool. The swing with this things is amazing!! I freakin love it, only if i was a little better with leashless I would buy a pair.


Viper Ice Tool - Hammer (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.43/5 Average Rating : 4.43/5

In: Gear: Alpine & Ice Climbing: Ice Axes and Hammers

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-16


Sweet Tool, Swings very nicely. my only complaint is i hit the ice with my nuckles a few times. I like the leashless with the handles ressed abit. But a great great tool none the less.


Degre Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Boots

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-16


spent two days climbing ice in these boots, they were great. They handled WI4 with NO problem. Feet were never cold, they held crampons nicely and were very confortable and easy to walk in. I love these boots.


AutoRoute (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


Super good footage. Super hard lines that look amazing with strong guys that are cool to watch. The selection of pro's is awesome in this Vid.


Climbing DVD - Masters Of Stone 5 Average Rating = 4.73/5 Average Rating : 4.73/5

In: Gear: Media: Videos and DVDs: Climbing

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


Truely captures something awesome about dean potter. The dan osman tribute is awesome as well. This video has a much more as well that is totally worth watching.


Climbing DVD - Front Range Freaks Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Media: Videos and DVDs: Climbing

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


Timmy o'neil is sooo funny. Some nice trad footage that is actually interesting to watch.


Pilgrimage (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.44/5 Average Rating : 4.44/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


Awesome video, Josh Lowell capture some climbing and life in hampi. It is inspiring, its not just about strong guys climbing hard things. But really captures a good vib and shows what climbing trips & friends should be like.


Quicksilver Screwgate Locking Carabiner (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.21/5 Average Rating : 4.21/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


Very nice small lockers. Great for when you need a lock but not a big one. I give these guys a lot of work and they have been awesome.


Attache Screw-Lock Carabiner popular Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


Nice Biner, nothing is better then this for a grigri. Also works super good for a munter hitch.


Tri Cam (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.69/5 Average Rating : 4.69/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Hex, tricams, etc

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


What a great peice. Work awesome in pockets and horizontal cracks. So strong when set active but so cool they can be set passive as well.


Jake Screw-Lok popular Average Rating = 4.56/5 Average Rating : 4.56/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Locking Carabiners

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


I love the huge opening. it makes it so nice on anchors. These things rock.


JC Wiregates Average Rating = 4.40/5 Average Rating : 4.40/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


I have them on all my cams, they clip sooo nice and are very light weight.


Standard Nylon (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.17/5 Average Rating : 4.17/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


Nice draws, i have 6. A bit thin, but they clip like a dream.


Neutrino Straitjacket Quickdraw (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.83/5 Average Rating : 4.83/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Quickdraws

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


I only have 2, but they are sweet, by far my favorite wiregate. They are sooo light.


Spirit Quickdraw - 11 cm popular Average Rating = 4.58/5 Average Rating : 4.58/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Carabiners: Quickdraws

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


The top of the line for draws. nice clipping action, no catch nose and rubber keepers. Oh i love them.


Optimus Crux (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


Friggin awesome!! Stores under the canister. Its so small, light, compact and heats up like a champ. I've had my for nearly 2 yrs and i love it.


BlackLite™ Classic Cookset (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


Way nice cook set. Have to becare not to scratch off the non-stick. A Nice, compact, and very packable.


Alpine Attack 40 (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


I've been using this pack for weekend craggin and short trips for two years now. It rocks. Holds weight very nicely, no extra crap. Holds up like a friggin champ.


Crescent 90 (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.33/5 Average Rating : 4.33/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-08


Awesome pack, holds weight very well and has all the right features and no extra mess.


Eclipse (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Approach Shoes

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-07


I love them. I wear them to work, on the trail, to the crag in all weather sun, rain, or snow. They are solid shoes that hold up to tough conditions.


Predator Climbing Shoe - Mens (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.56/5 Average Rating : 4.56/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Velcro

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-07


An awesome subsititute for the 5.10 dragons. If you love the dragons you'll love these. My favorite Steep climbing shoe.


V10 (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.55/5 Average Rating : 4.55/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Slippers

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-07


Awesome shoes. High performance shoe, definate works very well on steep Rock. A bit of a pain to get on/off if you size tight for performance, but well worth it. If your not a slipper fan, these might be annoying for you. I do like the ability to cinch my shoes closed with laces or velco, it sometimes feels odd in these shoes. They feel loose, but definely not, just he uppers aren't tight like I am used to. All in all, very excellant shoes.


Sausalito (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.25/5 Average Rating : 4.25/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2005-03-07


Solid sole. Nice for some longer routes. Edges like a dream. Rubber is hard, so smearing is a bit tough. Nice addition to a shoe line up, but wouldn't recommend it for the only pair of shoes you own.


Curve Nut, 10 pack (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.22/5 Average Rating : 4.22/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Passive: Nuts and Stoppers

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-10-13


I love them, they set easily and you can tell if they are solid very quickly. Remove them is easy if your good with gear, they are alittle hard for new or inexperience leaders to remove. I love the rubber coated loops as well.


(Old-style) Power Cam (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.34/5 Average Rating : 4.34/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-09-05


Love them. they are great mid-size cams.


Camalots (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.49/5 Average Rating : 4.49/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Protection: Active

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-09-05


I absolutely love mine. They are just great, can't wait to see the new C4's


Simulator CNC Training Board (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.78/5 Average Rating : 4.78/5

In: Gear: Training & Accessories: Hang Boards

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-08-23


It is a great Product. I have two and i love them. I've done numerous different work-outs on them and seen great benefits. Great shape, great texture, best board i've used.


Grigri Belay Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.24/5 Average Rating : 4.24/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 1 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-07-28


The only time i like this product is for an experienced climber working in a gym. Other then that, i've watched people load it wrong consistantly and when loaded backwards it doesn't autolock. I've watched countless people get lazy after using it over time. It can not work on double rope systems. It is very heavy. Read the package, it states it doesn't always autolock, even if it is set up correctly, the slower the fall the less it autolocks. On small ropes it has trouble autolocking. Its a lot of work to rappel with. And its twice the price as most Belay devices.


Reverso 3 Belay/Rappel Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.38/5 Average Rating : 4.38/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-07-28


When used properly, It rocks! I love all the functions. Three friction settings, auto-blocking belay, auto-locking rappel. This this is a guide/ experienced climbers dream come true. The only flaw is you can't set it up for auto-locking lead belay, if it did that, this thing would be a god-send, but none the less, its the best device on the market.


ATC-XP Belay Device (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.46/5 Average Rating : 4.46/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Belay Devices & Descenders

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-07-28


An improved version of the ATC. Product does everything it claims and does it well. My only complaint is that they don't make a model with more features like the reverso. I love BD Products and this one is great.


Titan Titanium Kettle (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Cookware

Review 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-07-28


Extremely durable and lightweight. Titanium is great for a very strong and lightweight metal, but it has one problem, it doesn't transfer heat efficiently. And thats why I don't like this product, it takes me much longer to heat up the contents then it would in stainless steel.


Personal Cooking System (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00/5

In: Gear: Hiking and Camping: Stoves: Canister Mounted

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-07-28


Working in an outdoors store, I get the chance to see all the new stuff and get the scoop and test them before i buy gear. That being said, the Jetboil is the BEST stove to boil any/heat up any type of liquid. The ignition on it however does tend to break, the white stem shell will crack. But it doesn't really cause aproblem unless pieces fall off. The major downfall to the stove is you can't really do much else besides heat up liquids and it is heavy and large. Definately not a lightweight backpackers item.

However, they are claimming that a large surface area cooking top in being designed. Which could make this little baby quiet nice.

One thing i do love is the jetboil is totally field serviceable. It complete breaks down without tools to make field repairs quick and easy.


Anasazi Velcro (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.57/5 Average Rating : 4.57/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Velcro

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-05-12


simply the best shoes out their, hands down.


Flash Velcro Climbing Slipper (Manufacturer link) popular Average Rating = 4.04/5 Average Rating : 4.04/5

In: Gear: Shoes: Climbing Shoes: Velcro

Review 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-05-12


The top material broke down fast, but the rubber was good.


Tikka Plus (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 4.81/5 Average Rating : 4.81/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-05-12


I love it, its the best i've worn hands down.


10.5 mm Accelerator 60 Meter - Standard Average Rating = 4.31/5 Average Rating : 4.31/5

In: Gear: Essential Equipment: Climbing Ropes: Dynamic Single Ropes

Review 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-05-12


I have the 10.5 60m double dry rope. Its heavy and it kinks alot. All in all, its strong and safe, but that comes with the heavy weight and a bitch at how easily it kinks. Its not a bad rope but I wouldn't get it again.


Mojave (Manufacturer link) Average Rating = 3.62/5 Average Rating : 3.62/5

In: Gear: Archive

Review 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: taraus_de_bull, 2004-04-22


They edge nicely. They serve me pretty well with moderate challenge bouldering and sport routes.