Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Face Up to That Crack - 5.8 popular Average Rating = 3.66/5 Average Rating : 3.66/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: bmck on 2013-04-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars nice slab, better crack

I dug this route. one big lieback/high step move off the ground, then into some pretty thin but low-angle slab that gets progressively thinner until the crux move to the start of the crack. Crack is great, can be jammed or climbed like a flake. It's a long runout on lead to the next bolt, which can be clipped hands-free standing on the ledge at the top of the crack. Likelihood of a fall is quite low, but you could deck. The rest of the climb is pretty easy, low-angle with big edges, taking you up high enough to be quite satisfied with yourself when you're done.

Added: 2013-04-08

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dms11003 on 2013-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun route

Fun route possible to climb it without trad gear

Added: 2013-03-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: deadclmbr on 2012-10-25 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2012-11-04

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: arwen211 on 2011-04-17 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars .

..

Added: 2012-05-23

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: PetetheTeapot on 2012-03-30 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars ascent note

ascent note

Added: 2012-04-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: andrea37 on 2011-05-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars A varierty of climbing

I really enjoyed this lead. The move into the crack was the crux for me. Definitely plug a piece (if not 2) into the crack. It will take a #1 and an #3.

Added: 2011-06-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: douglaskinsman on 2011-05-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars A lil spicy

getting up to the first bolt. The crack will take a dos or tres with aplomb. Some of those footholds are poleeshed.

Added: 2011-05-17

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jakedatc on 2010-03-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun

a few cams are good

Added: 2010-12-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: brian_h on 2010-08-22 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Nice Route

I have been gym climbing for about a month and a half. The trip this weekend was my first outdoor climbing experience (RRG is phenomenal btw!) and first time leading. I onsighted this route clean with a good amount of difficulty. Definitely could use a piece of trad in the crack (I didn't place any because I don't know how yet)--the runout between the 4th and 5th bolts is about 15 feet, and a fall from the 5th bolt could drop you very close to the ground. Fun route though, lots of small crimps and a good toe workout.

Added: 2010-08-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Pennsy on 2010-03-31 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Face Up to that Crack

Nice climb. I plugged 2 link-cams in the crack because I could.

Added: 2010-04-14

> >|

Record your own Ascent