Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Hyperion - 5.7 Average Rating = 3.00/5 Average Rating : 3.00/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: Largeman on 2012-12-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars First Solo

This was my frist solo climb. I used a grigri and a pursik as a safety. I anchored myself into the first bolt and made a fail safe on the second that would only put tension on it if the first was to fail. I completed both pitches and made to to the top for the first time with no incident. Descended with two ropes.

Added: 2012-12-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Largeman on 2012-12-21 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Large man Returns

Showed up at the wall not knowing what anything was and preceded to climb on the route that I thought looked the easiest to get back in the grove of things since it has been 5 months from my last climb. After getting past the 3 bolt it was pretty simple. I only brought one rope at 200 ft length so I had to repel to P1 of Goldline which was perfect because it made for a more interesting repel. And I was stoked because it was the perfect use for my pirana repel device. Jessica was on my Belay.

Added: 2012-12-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rurprider on 2011-12-19 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Fun in the Sun

Great weather and just a handful of climbers at Texas Canyon. "Hyperion" isn't a sport climb, but fun. It's a full rope length to the anchors, but you can rappel to the P1 anchor on Goldline" or "Aenea" and than to the base with one rope.

Added: 2011-12-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: clr288 on 2011-04-16 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Better than Goldmine

More fun than Goldmine with a more obvious bolt line and less of a run out. Easy climbing but the rock quality isnt great.

Added: 2011-04-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rurprider on 2011-01-26 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Not Sport Bolted

Interesting slab climbing on knobs, inclusions, and pockets past a small overhang/roof crux. Hyperion is still chossy and loose, even after all these years. Tightened down the loose hanger at the crux. Looks solid.

Added: 2011-04-02

Record your own Ascent