Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Long John Wall - 5.8 Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jmeizis on 2011-05-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Funky and Fun

The first pitch is a little weird but everything after that is real enjoyable. Got some snow while we were climbing which made things a little tougher but I don't know where the 5.8 part was.

Added: 2011-05-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dlTOm on 1993-06-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Nice climb

A nice route; from what I remember the 5.8 is not real long on this route, and some nice clean flared grooves at the top to finish on.

Added: 2008-01-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: speedywon on 2007-07-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Long John Wall

Lots of fun. Both 5.8 pitches were lots of fun.

Added: 2007-08-07

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: franzr on 1994-07-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun

I've done this several times and it's great. Watch out for poison ivy at the base, though!

Added: 2007-04-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cccman on 2006-11-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars LJW

fun w/ sally

Added: 2006-11-17

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: spraylordfocker on 2006-11-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars awesome

hairy at first

Added: 2006-11-15

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cracklover on 2006-04-10 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Fun route! Awesome belay position at the top!

Added: 2006-04-10

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: joneiche on 2006-02-04 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2006-02-04

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: cindylou on 2005-09-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Did the first 2 pitches and got rained off. Rock hopping across the creek was interesting.

Climbed again on 10-5-2005. Bright sunny day but windy as hell and cold. Led the last pitch of 5.5. My first trad lead. Very cool.
The roof on pitch 2 seemed harder than 5.7 but maybe just to me. The 5.8 section on pitch 3 was very nice. Lots of stemming and jamming for about 50 feet.
Climbed again on 1-11-06.

Witnessed by: Dino
Added: 2005-09-21

Ratings
  Difficulty
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: pug on 2005-06-06 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Led the first and last pitches. Fell pulling the roof on the 2nd pitch. I was rather proud of cruising the 4th pitch. I thought I was going to fall just about every second of that finger crack dihedral.

Great route. Definitely worth doing.

Added: 2005-06-06

> >|

Record your own Ascent