Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Gelsa - 5.4 popular Average Rating = 4.40/5 Average Rating : 4.40/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2013-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Need to try the variation for P2

Would like to try going up and over rather than traversing. Gear looks thin and the climbing looks slabby.

Mitch lead the money pitch.

Added: 2013-08-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2013-08-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Such a great climb

I have never run P1/P2 together. Next time I will. P3 is the best.

Added: 2013-08-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: Bulletproof2000 on 2011-10-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars wow

not in shape to lead

Added: 2013-04-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: Bulletproof2000 on 2013-03-31 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Windy as hell

decided to walk off,

Added: 2013-04-02

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2012-10-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A nice warm up on a 47 degree morning

We wanted to check the temp of the rock before we climbed. So, we warmed up on Gelsa. Always fun pulling jugs. Traverse is ho hum.

Added: 2012-10-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: crw5074 on 2011-07-09 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Fun

A great climb for its grade.

Added: 2011-07-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: hoodlove on 2010-10-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Finally.

Tried in the Summer and rapped off the chains for time sake to get home. Came back in the fall and made the climb. Took turns leading with my 11 year old and it was a blast. From the pics, I missed the 2nd belay ledge and made my own anchors on a tiny ledge mid way up the third pitch. It worked great and was one of thebest 5.4's we have done still.

Added: 2011-04-26

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: maymarmalade on 2005-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Cannot be missed

One of the most classic and beautiful climbs at the Gunks and EASY. Climb to the tree for a first short pitch, because the next pitch is a traverse to the left and up and around the bulge. I ran this whole pitch out, DON'T DO THAT. The third pitch is the money pitch... Super fun and chuncky stuff all over, and bomber placements, there are three/four pins on the third/last pitch

Added: 2011-01-29

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: murrayrobert on 2011-01-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars EMS training

Climbed with Stephen and guide from EMS. Learning to lead multi pitch climbs.

Added: 2011-01-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: a_dumb_fake_name on 2010-07-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Hot, hot hot

This wall is unbelievably FULL SUN! Blistering hot rocks made me dip into a chalk bag for the first time ever outside the gym. Last move of traverse at end of first pitch, followed by a couple of enormous loose rocks (first move on second pitch, and last move on 3rd pitch) added to the threat of heatstroke made this a thrilling 5.4! Instead of taking a long free-hanging rappell off of "Fat Boy" (don't worry, 2 60m ropes will still hit the ground), walked off the top for 5 minutes, crossed the road back to the main parking lot, and drove at top speed to the swimming hole. A couple minutes under that ice-cold waterfall cooled everyone right down. :)

Added: 2010-07-06

> >|

Record your own Ascent