Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Yum Yum Yab Yum - 5.3 Average Rating = 4.35/5 Average Rating : 4.35/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2014-07-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Always fun new

Nice climb. I would not call this a 5.3. A 5.3 leader might be very unhappy in places. P2 is a nice steep, juggy corner up to a nice steep face. Lots of fun.

Added: 2014-07-26

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2014-04-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Did the 5.7 exit

Be warned that once you exit the 5.7 moves, you are facing a slab covered in lichen. not a ton of gear on the slab.

Added: 2014-04-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2013-08-14 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars How many times can you do this in one week?

Well, 3x for me! Bett and I climbed it today. She lead P1/P3 and I took the evens. Each pitch is fun and very different from the last. Bett felt that it's much harder than a 5.3 and I agree.

Added: 2013-08-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2013-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Did it again today

Mitch and I swapped leads. THis time I got the money pitch. So much fun. I would NOT call this a 5.3. Rude awakening for a 5.3 leader. You can run P1/P2 together. Bring a micro nut for the beginning of P2 (before you swing around into the corner). P4 is just crazy fun. Great exposure, great gear. Too bad it ends in a grassy gully.

Added: 2013-08-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2013-08-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Haven't done this climb in years

Spectacular climb. Where else can you get world class exposure on a 5.3? Worth doing, worth doing it again. Lots and lots of fun

Added: 2013-08-10

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Mellow on 2012-03-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great

Really liked this. Feels big.

Added: 2012-03-29

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: woodthrush on 2010-04-19 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars YYYY

Great climb!!!! Loved the 2nd and 4th pitches!!

Added: 2010-04-29

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: mwill on 2009-10-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Yum Yum Yab Yum

2nd lead ever. Tricky for a 5.3. Not as many placements as you would think, but a really fun climb with good variety.

Added: 2009-10-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: streetshark on 2009-07-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Y4

The traverse was nuts. The route overall was a ton of fun though. Nice ledges for belaying.

Added: 2009-07-29

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tigerlilly on 2009-06-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Where the wild things are

Swung leads with Dana B. Neither of us had climbed this before. I lead P1 and 3, she lead 2 and 4. Pitches 2 and 4 are airy and "full-value" for 5.3. Beware of toaster oven-sized loose block on the easy p3. There is a dove's nest about 15 feet left of the p1 belay under the shrub, and a chipmunk who lives in the two-fist sized hole near the bottom of the open book at the p3 belay.

Added: 2009-06-08

> >|

Record your own Ascent