Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Solar Slab - 5.6 popular Average Rating = 4.45/5 Average Rating : 4.45/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jmeizis on 2013-10-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Cruiser but Stellar

Great climbing despite the ease in difficulty. Crowded and hot, even on a cooler day.

Added: 2013-10-28

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: granolapher on 2009-12-22 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Onsite

Superfun. Summit requires some additional climbing up easy runout slabs, with a sketchy 60m (easy 70m) rope rappel.

Added: 2012-08-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: dowww on 2012-03-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Solo

After 300 multi pitch trad climbs at Red Rock, I finally climbed Solar Slab. Left the trailhead at 2 in the afternoon....and ended up with the entire upper slab to myself on a beautiful March Saturday....was a bit shocked about that. When I reached the top, Joanne Urioste, a friend (Ken) and her son (Danny) gave me a free ride down on their ropes (took my harness in case I ran into someone I knew...but there is a pleasant walk off for those of you who do not know). They had climbed Black Orpheus and wanted to descend Solar. Great day out with great company on descent.

Added: 2012-03-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: coryberkebile on 2010-03-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Awesome route.

Part one of a link-up day. We climbed this route via the gully to get it done fast. We climbed this route in about 2 and half hours and rappelled through painted bowl. and ran out and over to juniper canyon and climbed olive oil.

Added: 2012-01-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: soNVclimbing on 2011-03-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Long day/night

climbed the last three pitches in the full moon. Rapped off a single walnut near the painted bowl.

Added: 2011-04-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: explorator on 2011-04-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars up and off the west side

solar slab via johnny vegas, descent off top pitch rap into painted bowl. awesome day!

Added: 2011-04-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: amigo25zmy on 2011-04-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun climb

.

Added: 2011-04-06

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fluffystuff on 2010-11-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars fun

was super fun. followed Victor on most of it, except for a quick run up p5&6.

seemed like it would be hard for the 5.6 leader. there was adequate pro, but i would think a 5.6 leader would struggle.

Added: 2010-11-16

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: piratemike on 2010-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Nice!

Had a great time. Wore me out but definitely worth it. If its still warm out bring more water than you think you'll need.

F'in mosquitoes....

Added: 2010-09-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: explorator on 2010-04-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars only had time for 4 p's

out w/ josh and dave. enjoyed what we got to.led p's 2&3

Added: 2010-04-11

> >|

Record your own Ascent