Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Sahara Terror (5p 5.7) - 5.7 popular Average Rating = 4.13/5 Average Rating : 4.13/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< < > >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: quiteatingmysteak on 2009-04-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars woops

went too far left at the traverse and hit a different roof system which had a second roof about 15 feet above it that was much harder (5.8), then above that traversed right again too late (some 5.9 lieback nonsense). Always get off route on that north side.... always fun!

Added: 2009-04-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Facelyss on 2008-11-08 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Sahara Terror

I'm pretty sure we were on route for the first pitch and a half or so, but then we were lost somewhere in between The Error and Sahara Terror. Still, a great climb.

Added: 2008-11-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: edbannister on 1986-10-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fast trip

The Whodunit had a party on it, so we decided to do Sahara Terror while waiting.
Gordon Brooks, Jeff Bosson, and myself. Gordon yells up, did you just do a wierd dogleg offwidth, YEP i yelled back, ok were on the right route then as he closed the guidebook.
3 climbers 1 hour, 35 minutes. ok, Jeff and Gordon simo-followed 4 or 5 pitches.

5.7 only applies to a few sections, most of the route is in the 5.5 or below category and is not strenuous or exposed as angles are low.



Added: 2008-10-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: apfander on 2008-05-31 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Nice route. Climbed it for the first time.
After the 10' left traverse I was quite surprised to find several pitons and even a drilled bolt! Almost thought I was on the wrong route since the pitons weren't shown in the topo. Once we were at the gully thought it became clear that it was the correct route.

Added: 2008-06-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: tim_b on 2007-08-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Day, No T-Storms ... Yea !

Did this route with Jason B., Him, pitches 1-3-5, Me pitches 2-4-6. I erroneously belayed at the teeny ledge right NEXT to the J-crack (3 pieces in, but no way to do equalized anchor there). Jason face-climbed the J-Crack in about 20 seconds, which inspired me to do same. I'm still wondering who put the new bolt/hanger on P4 below about 20-25' below the crux. It wasn't there last summer (I did, however, clip it). For P5 lead, Jason did the variation straight up, instead of veering right. I recommend this, as it makes a more exciting finish. BTW, I've done this route 3x and it is still fun and exciting every time.

Added: 2007-08-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: criscokid on 2007-08-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars STUPID EUROS!

So get this: I climbed this route for the 5th time last weekend. Some Euros were coming up Souvenir while we were about to make the SHORT traverse to the left at the crux. I have done this traverse every time I have done this route including the two times I did this with some Tahquitz old timers and THEY led the pitch. Well I am about 6 feet from the belay, when the Euros start yelling up..."you on wrong root!" "Uh...no...I know where I'm going" They persist and won't leave me alone. Granted the two route DO join up but it isn't until you reach the gully near the top. While I am belaying my bud on the next pitch the chick of the two Euros starts up the pitch beneath us. She again starts into the whole wrong route thing...I tell her that I know exactly where I am and to drop it. She then launches into a big lesson about not dropping any rocks down on them (earlier my bud had dropped a nut that did bounce within about 10 feet of them below us, but we did yell out a warning and then apologized several times). To top it all off, after I am already about 20 feet up the next pitch she yells up, "we want to pass you!" even though they were still well below us. After we reach the top (we got to the top and they never caught up to us for this passing attempt despite all the yelling on their part in fact they didn't show up at the summit until after we had cleaned up all our gear and eaten a good lunch...yeah, they were really pushing us there...). As we are leaving the guy Euro starts into a lecture about how climbing is supposed to be fun and not a big issue. He then proceeded to tell me how well he knew the area and I was obviously wrong, blah...blah...blah all the while we are headed for the trail. After I got home I checked both the earlier and the later Vogel and Gaines guides. Both topos showed that the stupid Euros were climbing the WRONG third pitch! All their annoying crap and all the while THEY DIDN'T EVEN KNOW WHAT THE WERE CLIMBING!!! AHHHH. If you are going to go after someone else make sure you actually have a clue yourself!!!

Added: 2007-08-17

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tim_b on 2007-07-23 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great Climb, fun, lots of different moves

Dave S. and I did this with 50m double ropes in 7 pitches.

Added: 2007-07-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fearlessclimber on 2007-04-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars awesome

I am guessin this was a 60's climb, sort of sand bagged, nice exposure on the j-crack.

Added: 2007-04-30

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: franzr on 2002-08-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars OK route

This doesn't compare to the long moderates in Colorado, but I guess it's OK for SoCal.

Added: 2007-04-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: scotchie on 2006-06-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars fun climb

This was my first long route. We did it in 7 pitches. It was also my first whipper. I lowered to the belay and then sent it. The start of the 5th pitch can be either easy 5.7 or sparsely protected 5.10, depending on which way you go. Guess which one I chose before the whipper? PM me if you want the beta.

Added: 2007-04-03

|< < > >|

Record your own Ascent