Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Beginner's One - 5.3 Average Rating = 3.69/5 Average Rating : 3.69/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2011-04-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Son's first trip to J Tree

I took my son Joshua for his first camping trip to J Tree. I did one climb that weekend, he watched from the ground. The climb went as uasual. In a few years hopefully he will be able to join me climbing.

Added: 2011-05-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2006-11-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Solo

As I was setting up to lead Toe Jam I realized I left my belay at the top of Beginner's One. I threw the rope on my back and my shoes on my harness. I ran over the the climb and soloed the route.

Added: 2011-05-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: henrytwin_m on 2006-11-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Ascent

Took my wife and tow other up the route. Very easy and fun climbing.

Added: 2011-05-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: ericfoltz on 1997-04-12 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars 2nd

F

Added: 2010-05-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: niccast on 2010-02-05 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars eh.

The first 2/3's is virtually a 4th class scramble and unprotected. The last 3rd was definitely harder than 5.3, maybe 5.6 even. If you're a beginner climber, beware.

Added: 2010-02-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.2
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stealthyToaster on 2009-12-17 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Mostly a scramble.

Hardly a 5.3

Added: 2009-12-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: breaksteel on 2009-02-19 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars First climb in JTree

Had one awkward move for me, maybe because I was not set up properly. The walk off on the south end that is written in the west guide book was not found. Managed to set up a rappel station on top of the south east side, should have just down lead...

Added: 2009-02-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rockwizard on 2009-02-14 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Up you go

Super short. Slabby crack. GF felt this was tough, too wide for her hands i guess.

Added: 2009-02-22

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: napoleon_solo on 2009-01-30 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Large cams required

If you're looking for your first-time trad lead and all you have is some stoppers and tricams, you may want to look elsewhere. Other than that, easy climb with a good view. Downclimb took longer than the actual climb.

Added: 2009-02-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.3
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lumberg on 2009-01-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun

Nice crack, very fun. A couple unprotected slab sections that are probably fourth class, may be scary for a new leader but not difficult.

Added: 2009-01-19

> >|

Record your own Ascent