Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Knapsack Crack - 5.5 popular Average Rating = 3.45/5 Average Rating : 3.45/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2012-05-12 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Mellow all the way

Took Lisita on her second multi-pitch. She'll be ready to lead it next time. Would probably be a good first multipitch route for the beginning leader.

Added: 2012-06-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: bowleggedgoat on 2011-07-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Knapsack

Good fun.

Added: 2012-02-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: kachoong on 2011-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Solo

Climbed solo a few hours after simul-climbing with the Klown.

Added: 2011-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: kachoong on 2011-08-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun stuff

Would be a great intro to trad climb. Simul-climbed with See Eye.

Added: 2011-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.2 F
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Kaosgrl on 2011-04-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Don't let the snow fool you - the leap is open.

My climbing partner and I sat around trying to decide what to do about saturday brunch late on friday night. When we couldn't agree we decided the only reasonable thing was to drive out to Tahoe and attempt to climb hogsback. Yes we knew it would be partially under snow. Isn't that why we all climb though the Adventure.

The aproach in took close to 3 hours but that is partly because we missed the left turn off the main trail. The rest was coming around the side of hogs back while it was covered in snow.

The climb itself was clear accept the first part of the first pitch. We snow climbed to the clear rock and then added a pitch I wil call the hogs tail traverse - traversing where the snow met the rock adding a few pieces of gear here and there to stop major slips from equalling sliding down to the bottem of hogs back.

I did the first pitch in my 5.10 apoach shoes. We used the tree as an anchor for the first pitch and I put on my climbing shoes. The second pitch gave me some trouble - a few wet spots meant slipping.

The anchor was built above the piton and the final pitch I led. Good easy pro quick pitch - at most a 5.1/5.2 with the end being a 4th class run up to a tree.

Over all a great climb - good fun and a great place to place your first peices of gear.

Added: 2011-05-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: wilderneshunter on 2010-09-21 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars My first

quick and easy intro to the sport

Added: 2010-09-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: KCN on 2010-08-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun hike

watch for loose rock

Added: 2010-08-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: kdrake on 2010-06-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun...

...and that's all I have to say about that.

Added: 2010-06-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: losinghand on 2010-06-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Super easy.

Bria's first lead ever. I think SuperTopo says mostly 5.0-5.4 with a coupe 5.5 moves - but I felt that there were some fairly sustained 5.5 sections. (Maybe it was because my hands were freezing cold?). Protects well, easy route - great introduction to multi-pitch trad leading, or great to take a first-time climber to.

Added: 2010-06-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: sclaussen on 2009-09-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Cruiser

This is a great route for a first time leader. The first pitch is easy 5.2 and has plenty of protection opportunities, and a good tree for the belay station anchor, you can swing pitches, then let the new leader finish the last 30-40 feet of the climb on pitch 3. This thing eats all types of gear - I was able to place a BD #4, a #5, and a #6 on P2 - as well as orange and yellow TCUs, a red alien, and a few nuts. It'll take smaller stuff as well, I was just having fun with my bigger gear. As has been mentioned many times, if you belay at the obvious tree at the top of P1, you will have a short P3. Once you get to the second piton on P2 - you're at the crux. The descent is an obvious and easy walk off.

Added: 2009-09-14

> >|

Record your own Ascent