Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Levitation 29 - 5.11b popular Average Rating = 4.62/5 Average Rating : 4.62/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: jajen on 2012-11-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great route

Awesome route in an awesome location. First route we got on that felt true to the grade and the approach definitely put a litle "hitch in my giddyup" for the day. Got the crux pitch roof and then sketched on the face crux just above it. +By the time I got to the 7th pitch I was toast!

Added: 2012-11-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: coryberkebile on 2010-03-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Does it get any better!

This was our second climb of the day. We first climbed Black Orpheus and rappelled through painted bowl and hit this route for some nice warm sunny climbing. After the first pitch I don't think there is a need for anything but quickdraws. The first pitch ended up a bit run out because we didn't bother with gear. But it is an awesome route. The rock quality starts to get kinda poor towards the top but worth doing.

Added: 2012-01-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: barwatt on 2004-11-13 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Sweeeeeet!!

Exellent climb with a remote feeling while viewing dowtown Vegas. Hiking out in the dark was a little difficult having never been there before.

Added: 2011-05-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: iwaclimber on 2010-12-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Snowed Off Levitation 29

Onsighted the first 3 pitches, then the heavens opened and snow came a flying. Rapped off then headed for the slabs descent. This was a little dicey, as there were streams of water running down the slab as were were descending. No epic though. Made it back to the car by 4 pm. Approach note: When you see the first two large pine trees- go around the first pine tree and head right, up the slabs. Keep your eye out for the well placed carins that take you all the was to Eagle Wall.

Added: 2010-12-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: USnavy on 2010-11-26 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun

Crazy long approach, it took us almost three hours to get there but we took the third class approach instead of the fourth one by accident. Than we took the fourth class ramp back down in the night and also got lost. All in all, the approach and decent lasted longer than the actual climb did.

The start of pitch two was a bit sketchy. There isnít much for really solid gear and the moves to the first bolt, about 30 feet up, are a bit tricky. Other than that the climb is relatively safe with the massive number of bolts it has.


Added: 2010-11-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: danielo108 on 2009-04-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars First climb in this grade (not sure about the date )

great times

Added: 2010-09-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: A-Bowl on 2010-03-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Good Solid Line!

Deceivingly steep and long although it went down super fast... 2-3 hours. loved the changes in rock that it climbed through... hard and cut to soft and rounded. Favorite pitches were the 2 11a's. The upper 11a wild was tons of fun... side pulling high foots and slopers. The crux was definately 11c in my opinion but was just straight forward, not that memorable. went to the top and came back down to the raps after looking at the hike. rapped off with 1 70m and out by 4:30pm

Added: 2010-03-29

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: joehardy on 2009-11-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Multi-pitch sweetness

This was a fantastic route!!! It had been on my list for a while, but hadnt found a partner willing to grunt the approach..........which is pretty grueling, but still incredibly worth it.

we started hiking at 6:30, and got to the cliff around 9. the first pitch is really great 5.10 trad. the second pitch has a pretty sweet crux, and decently committing for sport.

pitches 5 and 6 are really good to link, but make sure you bring a few trad pieces for pitch six, because theres atleast 30 feet of 5.10 trad on the sixth.

the 5.11c pitch is absolutely amazing. really interesting crack for the crux, to some delicate moves through the dihedral. my calves felt it the most through this section, but an amazingly exposed pitch that is really sustained.

we climbed through the seventh pitch, which is 10+ in the guide book, but felt atleast as hard as the 11a on the climb. a really cool pitch, and not to be missed. we skipped the last two moderate pitches, which is pretty standard for a crew thats looking to wrap.

we had a 70 meter rope that was just fine for the wrap. be careful on the 140ft pitch. the rope ends were within a foot or so of anchors. definitely have knots on the end.

we got back to the car around 6pm, but we could have done the whole day atleast two hours faster if we hustled on the hike.

onsighted every pitch. if you're looking to do this on a vacation, i would recommend doing some hill running a few weeks prior. i did, and it made a great difference on the approach. my partner, who was last minute, and did a great job, didnt have the luxury of training for the approach, and had a harder time with it.

have a great time!!!

Added: 2009-12-06

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: nathmalo on 2007-10-06 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome route!

OS the easy pitches.

Added: 2009-05-12

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: ilikerock13 on 2009-04-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Mick/Berto

Amazing!

Added: 2009-04-22

> >|

Record your own Ascent