Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: The Grand Wall - 5.11a popular Average Rating = 4.96/5 Average Rating : 4.96/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: wonderwoman on 2013-07-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Spectacular!

Lead p2 & 3. Followed the rest. Hung a few times. Aided a few things. Laid back the Split Pillar which pretty much wore me out!

Added: 2013-08-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: yannick18 on 2013-06-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Classic Route

Really fun route, was a lot easier than I was expecting. Had a single rack to #3.

Added: 2013-06-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: mriley on 2010-08-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Soooo good!

Thanks Scott for a wicked day!! Slipped towards the end of Larry's Payback [sic], and blew the onsight. But what a day...what a day!!

Added: 2012-11-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: DougfromTassie on 2012-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Day Out

Weather was perfect: mid-twenties. Only one other party on the route, and they let us pass at the base of the Split Pillar.
Immaculate rock, a highly varied route on perfect granite.
Do it!

Added: 2012-09-18

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stamplis on 2010-08-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars _

it's just as good as you've heard. The Split Pillar is, of course, the standout pitch!

Added: 2010-09-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: blueeyedclimber on 2010-07-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Did not finish!

Generally I do not put down routes that I didn't finish, but this route is just too good to ignore. I NEED to get back and do this. I took one rest day before, but I probably could have used another one. I was not prepared for the Split Pillar. It was a LOT pumpier than I was anticipating. Bailed after this pitch. Can't wait to get back on this again!!!!

Added: 2010-07-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: gowser on 2009-08-19 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars the grand

the grand - went to the bellygood ledge. i led apron strings pitch 1, the dyke, the pillar, the sword, the slabby part after perry's and the sail flake. good fun! go do it!

Added: 2009-08-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: hardkelownaclimber on 2009-07-23 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awsome

One the best you will ever get on.

Added: 2009-07-24

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bellaitalia on 2008-07-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Grand Wall Lite

A great climb, although we stopped at Bellygood. We split the climb into two equal blocks.

Added: 2009-03-31

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stevecurtis on 2008-09-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A kind wall

This one is kind for a long route. I thought the crux was the bolted layback.

Added: 2008-09-20

> >|

Record your own Ascent