Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Walk on the Wild Side - 5.7 popular Average Rating = 4.48/5 Average Rating : 4.48/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-03-31 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars What a fun route (froze my but tho!)

Great day as party of 3 up this great route. It was run out but I have climbed worst runout routes by now (snake dike; dike route; aqua knobby). In any case just be sure to have your lead head on. Bring a jacket it gets windy up there. (Tony and I split the leads and I started)

Added: 2014-05-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: oldclimber on 1977-09-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fall 77

BITD

Added: 2012-09-19

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: quiteatingmysteak on 2011-11-10 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars ./

really easy once you know whats up.

Added: 2011-11-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: plantmandan on 2007-05-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Wild

A great route with the best of views. Crimps are there when you need them, but the bolts are runout, especially leaving the ground. Not a 5.7 gym route.

Added: 2011-10-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2011-03-01 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Walk on the Wild Side

With Zach. Fun route. Bolts all over, but pretty much stay in the 2nd line to the left of the cleft. Go left at the roof then back right and up. Two pitches or simul climb. Trend left on the 2nd pitch and follow a few bolts. A 60 makes 3 raps straight down and to the right at the bottom.

Added: 2011-03-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: shaner on 2010-10-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars .

Repeat. Led both pitches

Added: 2011-02-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: shaner on 2010-04-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Chill

Barely run-out and easy slab climbing leave you only slightly unnerved. Nothing too intimidating and good route for beginners to multi-pitch.

Alternated lead. I led the first pitch.

Added: 2011-01-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ericfoltz on 2010-05-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Lead

RP

Added: 2010-05-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: satch on 1991-04-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun

Yes

Added: 2010-03-07

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: aquadood on 2010-02-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great route

Climbed this as a party of three on this Saturday. We were the second party on the route (from what we saw). P1 - delicate slab climbing. I went off-route under the first belay station (out right into the cave with the bolt). This created a lot of rope drag for the last couple moves. P2 - Start straight up from the belay (run-out about 20' to first bolt, easy slab climbing).

Descent - we botched the descent by rapping right of the route into the boulder salad (apparently the area that can be downclimbed). First rap was fine, second rap we mistakenly rapped from two hangers and couldn't pull the ropes. This was solved by climbing up the downclimb and freeing the ropes.

A great route for our first multi-pitch. If you're gonna lead it be prepared to look down and see 20' between you and your last quickdraw :)

Added: 2010-02-15

> >|

Record your own Ascent