Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Classic Crack, Eightmile Rock - 5.8 Average Rating = 3.88/5 Average Rating : 3.88/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: clarkinsc on 2012-05-30 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Classic Crack

Classic crack; felt good to lead it after top roping it years ago

Added: 2012-07-10

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Flash Flash ascent by: kubok13 on 2011-06-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars none

w/ NOLS course

Added: 2011-06-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climbwest on 2009-08-06 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars SWEET!!

I loved this crack. My hands fit it really well...the only thing is I wished it as longer!

Added: 2009-08-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: jnrose5 on 2009-06-05 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars awesome

jam and go...

Added: 2009-06-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: herbaltee on 2009-05-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun climb

Got the redpoint. The jams are good and the gear too...

Added: 2009-05-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: sswanny on 1999-08-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great Climb

Kramer says 5.8 which it probably is. It may feel 5.9 though due to the varying size of the crack and how you have to hold and protect it.

I've climbed this a bunch of times over the years, both top rope and traditional protection. Had fun every single time. Depending on the time of the year and the last rain it can be a bit slick though. Once you see it you'll know why the locals call it Elephant Butt.

Added: 2008-08-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: gochubug on 2008-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

There seems to be a bit of confusion over the rating of this short practice crack. Here it is called 5.8, the Kramer guidebook calls it 5.8+, and the Whitelaw guidebook says it is "the standard for 5.9!" Everyone I know says it is harder than 5.8 and I agree, but it is a killer practice crack for harder stuff in the alpine setting.

Added: 2008-07-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: herbaltee on 2008-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Good hands

I really enjoyed this climb, it was good hands and solid feet all the way.

Added: 2008-05-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: sherrilewis on 2007-06-06 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars great challenge

Took a few tries to get this lead cleanly, but worth the effort. Resist the urge to layback the upper crux unless you want to run it out.

Added: 2008-03-06

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: shivaBD on 2007-08-17 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars fun

lay backed it

Added: 2008-01-03

> >|

Record your own Ascent