Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Entrance Crack - 5.4 popular Average Rating = 2.96/5 Average Rating : 2.96/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: wkfegler on 2014-10-25 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars gets in your head

I forgot how run out the top half is. More mental than physical on this climb

Added: 2014-10-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wkfegler on 2013-06-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Runout

as a way to get to the tree ledge, it is useful, but the second half of this climb is runout. good thing it is easy climbing

Added: 2013-06-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: johnnyb336 on 2012-03-11 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Needed Fast Access to the Tree Ledge

I needed a really quick route to the tree ledge so I could set up a top-rope for our group and this was the closest route to our gear since we just climbed the Pulpit. This route can be a little deceptive, use caution if not used to climbing at Stone.

Added: 2012-03-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jsaunders on 2011-12-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars fun

followed this time. felt much easier with guide tennies on following

Added: 2011-12-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jsaunders on 2011-12-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars not bad

Interesting climb. Enjoyed it

Added: 2011-12-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: slumdrunk on 2011-05-24 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars bring big bros

easy climb to two trees, then it's runout to the very top. big bros will protect, but if you dont have any, have full confidence in your ability!

Added: 2011-05-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Christopherlh84 on 2011-04-30 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Good climb

Its a good climb you can place a #6 BD c4 in the outwith crack and also if you own the biggest Bigbro you can protect it with very little run out.

Added: 2011-05-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating R
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mjwestla on 2011-01-15 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars eh

Ok, you are all probably going "toprope Entrance Crack? Huh?" Well, what can I say we were up there via another means and I was curious to see what all the hate was about but not curious enough to spend the time to head back down and lead it.

Ok, so the beginning where you have two cracks to chose from was fine, you can plug in gear there. Then you reach a landing where the offwidth begins (surprising how deep that crack actually is...) I thought it was actually kind of a hard move off the ledge for the grade but a really fun fist jam helps. I stayed on the face to the right mostly for the offwidth and found the rock to be fairly featured, if a bit polished, with dishes to step on and edges in the crack, right up until where the chopped bolt was. As mentioned previously, there is a little crack (pretty flaring) that might take some gear but I'm not sure how solid it would actually be. It's a bit of a hard move pulling through that few feet and with no pro and a nasty fall I can see why folks don't like this route. Getting your leg caught during a fall could be spectacularly bad too. Still, once you get over that it's easy again and practically over. Worth doing once I'd say - if nothing else it gives your calves a break from the relentless slab attack...

Added: 2011-01-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.4
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jacksont on 2010-10-16 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars not hard... annoying

nota whole lot of fun... but nescesarry to get to the arch

Added: 2010-10-17

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: llkenned on 2009-10-18 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Most runout ive been..so far

Tried not to think about the massive amount of rope between me and that last slung tree. Did not see a bolt anywhere (tho i wasnt looking for one).

Added: 2009-10-19

> >|

Record your own Ascent