Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: crack of doom - 5.11c Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2013-05-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Crack of Doom

Not just at the grade, but close to if not the best route I have climbed at the City (Yellow Wall prob still deserves that title). The traverse in from the deck is interesting...some special footwork for me. The fingers went very nice with a foot behind me. The hands were so good and steep. Excellent route deserving of all the praise one can heap on it. The 5.10 to the right is worth doing as well.

Added: 2013-05-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: zcooky1 on 2012-10-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars zcook1

Soooo close to the onsight, oh well its good enough to do twice, hell its good enough to do every day. GREAT ROUTE, possibly the best crack ive climbed in the city. top is pumpy!

Added: 2012-10-21

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: chalkjockey on 2011-10-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars dream climb

i dreamed of onsighting, didn't think i could. thanks to mark weber's belay, and those gang-ropers wanting me to fail, i did.

Added: 2011-11-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: climb-high on 2009-07-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars -

broke my heel earlier in the week when a hold broke bouldering. belayed my friend the rest of the week till the last morning we were there. Fell a couple of times on first go, waited 15 mins and sent it, broken foot and all. great route, fun start

Added: 2010-03-08

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dan4geng on 2009-04-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars COD

Either this route is sandbagged or evidence of severe grade inflation... The bottom is pissed.

Added: 2009-04-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: JAGWire on 2006-09-22 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Incredible!

Damn near got the on-sight, but not quite. One fall. Bizaar sequences start the route to gain a semi-stance below a very thin corner/crack. Make a difficult sequence (this was were I fell) to gain a good finger lock. From the next 60ft the climb settles down to 10a to 10d at various points along the way. I was pumped out of my mind when I got to the shuts.

Added: 2008-08-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: rad_crux on 2007-06-17 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars -

One of the best routes in the City! I was horible on my onsight attempt, but got it second go.

Added: 2008-01-13

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: david77 on 2004-10-29 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2004-10-29

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jbeta on 2004-08-14 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

I got fully bouted on this climb five years ago. Came back this year to set things straight. The best crack pitch I have ever climbed.

Added: 2004-08-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: slab-dyno on 2004-07-17 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2004-07-17

> >|

Record your own Ascent