Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: West Face Overhang - 5.7 Average Rating = 2.88/5 Average Rating : 2.88/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2013-01-30 (View Climbing Log)

1 out of 5 stars West Face Overhang

My partner who belayed me on this lead had actually led this wrong on a previous trip. He told me to take the run out groove. No, keep traversing right to the crack (photo is correct in Miramontes book). Trick on this one is to double extend every piece you put in. Would have rather soled it myself, no slab moves at the grade really, always felt secure. Don't try and rap down from the rap up there in 2013, too much rock friction when you go to pull. Just down climb by the tree to the right of the formation. With Chad from CA.

Added: 2013-02-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: i_h8_choss on 2012-12-17 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars I liked it

This route is not a gimmie 5.7. I led it in one full pitch. Went straight up the flaring groove at the top(rating?) which felt a little harder than 5.7 and had a nasty potential fall.

Added: 2013-01-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: sdbob on 2012-05-04 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars use your noggin

Easy start, skip pro until the chimney. Tried facing left first, (good feet) but works better facing right since you exit that direction. I stopped after the traverse at the top and set an anchor for the 10a. Skipped the scary topout and just traversed left around the block to the ramp descent on the other side. Happy about that decision.

Added: 2012-05-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: amigo25zmy on 2011-04-09 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2011-04-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: ericfoltz on 1999-03-21 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Lead

OS

Added: 2010-05-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: aerili on 2010-01-07 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Old school Josh 5.7

Alison and I tied into one rope and followed Bill. This route seemed very old school and is not a walk-up per se. Chimney is slick and feels a little insecure, top-out is awkward, and descent is semi-scary!!

Added: 2010-01-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Abaddon on 2008-04-04 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars challenging for the grade

but isnt that what Jtree is all about? The friction traverse at the top will get your blood pumping... pretty awkward topout.... oh yeah the walk off descent is pretty fun too.

Added: 2008-10-05

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: happiegrrrl on 2007-11-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars n/a

Followed Chris(md from ny chris) on this route. The most insecure chimney I ever dealt with, even as a second, and I like chimneys! Fun once I survived, of course I loved the m/f'er - gave me something to think about. Chris belayed before the crouching traverse, thus avoiding the rope drag issue. The route is definitely worth it; only someone who got spanked would say otherwise. It has so much variety and thinking required. The last crack is awesome. For a .7, this line gives quite a workout.

Added: 2008-01-13

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: sbclimber on 2004-11-20 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

I got in the chimney backwards and had a tough time getting out. Finally figured it out, good fun indeed.

Witnessed by: Sean, Derrick
Added: 2004-11-20

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: crshbrn84 on 2004-10-24 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

my first weekend of trad climbing this is an awsome climb,

Added: 2004-10-24

> >|

Record your own Ascent