Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Right On - 5.5 Average Rating = 3.71/5 Average Rating : 3.71/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: kubok13 on 2014-03-16 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars none

none

Added: 2014-04-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: alexpete on 2013-07-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars With Mark Butler

Fun lead and nice multi pitch

Added: 2013-07-28

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: el_pirata on 2012-02-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars awesome adventure

not for new leaders. good for those with solid run out heads who love awkward stuff

Added: 2012-02-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: joshua.toenyes on 2010-03-26 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Climb

I had a blast leading this.

P1 - fairly well protectable up to the bolt, but runout after. There is about two moves right after the bolt that feel a little scary, then it gets easier as it runs out to the crack.

P2 - super short awkward pitch. Tape up for this one, the rock is really rough and has a tendency to eat through flesh if you get over zealous on your jamming.

P3 - P4 - P5 - I did this in 5 pitches, the last one was very short and in retrospect wasn't necessary, but I didn't know exactly how far it was to the top. There is a sharp traverse on the last pitch though so rope drag could be a serious issue.

The rap/walk off is just as described.

Great climb! I would do it again... maybe coerce somebody else into leading the first pitch though!

-Josh

Added: 2010-03-29

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Scenery
Second Second ascent by: charlenelieu on 2008-04-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars not your typical 5.5

This route was rated back when 5.9 was the highest rating, so be careful before getting on this thing. In today's standard, this would be at least a 5.8, if not 5.9 (depending on whether you play by Sierras grading or So Cal rating).

Easy route finding as it follows the crack straight up. A few run out sections make this potentially dicey for new leads. Not recommended as first multi-pitch despite its deceivingly low grade.

Added: 2009-06-20

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: winnersd on 2008-11-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars none

none

Added: 2008-11-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: 858jason on 2008-11-23 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars None

None

Added: 2008-11-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: dthompson47 on 1977-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Right On

I have been climbing Right On for over 25 years. I used to switch cracks into Pitch 2 sometimes on Orange Flake. My first time up Right On was in 1977 and no bolts were installed on any pitch ! My last climb up this face was in 1992 which was my 29 ascent on this route and every pitch except pitch 4 had bolts. I installed a rap station near the top of Right On in the late 70's. Not the traditional rap station installed by John Wolf on top of Right On.You down climb down a long slab from the top to the rap bolts and rap 140 feet down the smooth face, avoiding hiking down the gully; you must bring two ropes. I have in the past climb this entire route under one hour. On pitch 3, stay on the left side of the face and avoid the main crack system but stay near the main crack but not in it until you are near the top of P3. Do not go to far left near the top of P3. Than, you can climb this pitch real easy rather than being in the main crack system which is awkward and strenuous. Switching cracks sometimes into Orange Flake makes this route fun. Take a set of "tri Cams" they work well on this route.

Added: 2008-05-25

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: cliffmama on 2008-04-01 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Didn't like it

My partner and I were going to knock off this one as an easy way to fill a "rest day". As Gunks climbers, we're not used to off-width cracks and flaring chimneys, and found pitches 2 and 3 awkward, strenuous and unpleasant. My partner found some decent nut placements on P1, but the top of P3 was too run out for his taste. Then he got off route at the top of P3 - it looked better to him going to the left, but that's a different climb! As I seconded up, I realized he went the wrong way. He was belaying me from the climb on the left, and that left me to have to correct his mistake and traverse unprotected (as the 2nd) way to the right and past a tricky and thin move around the corner (felt at least 5.9) to get back into the proper gully, then belay him into the gulley to get on route. Well, at least the last pitch was straightforward.

I wouldn't do this one again, and if you're not used to these techniques, it will feel harder than 5.5. But it's a pretty view from the summit and the descent was straightforward. We had one 60m rope, we did a very short rap down to the other set of anchors, then rapped down from there. A long but easy downclimb took us back to our packs.

Added: 2008-04-07

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: chukker on 2007-11-04 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Red point

red point

Added: 2007-11-04

> >|

Record your own Ascent