Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: The Consolation - 5.9 Average Rating = 4.29/5 Average Rating : 4.29/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< <

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: laurelja on 2007-09-23 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars give you the real low down

So you climb the first pitch of constellation 5.8, than the REAL first pitch of consolation (P1 but actually P2), than the dihedral pitch (P2) than the small fun roof into the crossing hand cracks is P3. A the end of this pitch you are at the sloping ledge with a tree with slings, to climber right can be wong climb or to climbers rleft is wodunit. either way you go up above a small ledge and pick your poison. But despite the book there are really only two pitches to this route (first pitch is constellation and fourth pitch is either wong climb or whodunit.

Added: 2007-09-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: mandrake on 2007-07-14 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Why only one star?

Huhn. Why did Gaines and Vogel only give it a single star? I thought the meat of it was a fantastic route. We did the Constellation start (instead of the 3rd class approach), which was pretty good. Also, from the point where you go over to Whodunnit, I ran it up through the roof on the direct finish. While the direct finish is worth doing (non-crux sections have some crappy rock), it would be better to have the belay close for the crux steep jamming section (at probably 10a/b) so rope stretch doesn't drop you onto the ledge if you blow it.

Added: 2007-07-16

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jmccartie on 2007-06-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Ascent note

climbed with trenchdigger...we both thought the crux was on the 2nd pitch where the crack is at your feet to the right. the double-crack system on the 3rd pitch was our favorite, with great jams. very unique!

Added: 2007-06-02

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: snowey on 2007-05-06 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars fun climb

climbed this with kostas since whodunit had people on it. Linked some pitches and generally didn't go by the topo. I led the crux pitch (the pitch after the sloping ledge belay) and thought it was fantastic from the start all the way to the end. At one point in the dihedral with cracks on both sides I got a good hand jam in each of the cracks. It was like leavitating except with different cracks.
definitely recommend this route.

Added: 2007-05-07

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rockrider on 2005-09-17 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

This route was great! I liked it just about as much as Whodunit. I led the 2nd and 4th pitches; we joined Whodunit for the last pitch. The cracks were rougher, surely due to the fact that it's not climbed as much. It was first rate jamming and protection the whole way, including the crux, which was definitely the 3rd pitch. A super fun route, I highly recommend it.

Added: 2005-09-17

Ratings
  Difficulty
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: climbingmat on 2004-07-31 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2004-07-31

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: tcantor333 on 2004-06-19 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Awesome, can't remember the ezxact date we climbed it but me and rockratg had a blast on this one.

Added: 2004-06-19

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: addiroids on 2002-09-14 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

good climb, but a little loose.

Witnessed by: Astrocrag
Added: 2002-09-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: grippedclimer on 2000-08-13 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2000-08-13

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jv on 1973-09-09 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Have repeated this many times, and prefer to continue straight up to an overhang a few feet right of Whodunit. This adds a pitch of .10a, and puts you on the summit. Natural conclusion to a quality route.

Witnessed by: Dennis Sullivan
Added: 1973-09-09

|< <

Record your own Ascent