Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Directissima - 5.8 popular Average Rating = 3.67/5 Average Rating : 3.67/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: climbwest on 2009-08-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Hard 9th pitch!

A really fun and challenging route. Very enjoyable...even the 5h pitch traverse wasn't as bad as expected. Only thing with the route is the 9th pitch chockstone...horrible. Whoever rated it 5.8 is out of their mind! I wasn't leading that pitch and was glad of it. Very slick, overhung, and awkward not to mention sketchy pro....oh and did I mention it started raining by the 5th pitch!

Added: 2009-08-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2006-07-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Directissima

Another great outing with Lynette...the chockstone on pitch 9 is a lot of fun....the traverse on pitch 5 is not....but after doing Forbidden Corner, no complaints about non protected traverses on Direttissima

Added: 2008-07-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: Happywhale52 on 2008-05-29 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Direttisima, Yamnuska

second try for this route. hard classic 5.8+. 1st ,2nd, 5th, 9th has tough climb. really enjoyed it except polished sleek rock on last pitch. last two pitch is in shade, can be really cold even on sunny day, don't forget belay jucket!

Added: 2008-05-31

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lovesclimbing on 2008-05-29 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars 2 star route

I enjoyed it but was expecting more, the last pitch really wrecks the rest of the route, the next time I do it I'll try Sufftee or something, but after about 180 pitchs on Yam I went to the summit so it was a good day

Added: 2008-05-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lix on 2006-08-19 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Quite direct

Last pitch felt f-ing hard and slick. Have never looked at a topo and route decription so many times on a climb. I'm sure people climb this and other big limestone trad routes with single ropes, and I bet it sucks.

Added: 2007-03-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: smith_curry on 1993-03-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Cold fun

partner grief....still classic

Added: 2006-12-25

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: john_doe on 2005-05-14 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Awesome route, harder than any other 5.8 that I have done. The 5.8+ rating is very accurate, and should not be attempted by anyone that cannot do sustained 5.8 climbing for hours on end.

The crux is the 9th pitch, but the first is also a bit of a doozy.

Bring a good selection of gear and start very early!

Witnessed by: JB & NB
Added: 2005-05-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: roc-ray on 2005-04-20 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

got guided up this years ago. wild position on the last pitch.

Added: 2005-04-20

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: eagleseyre on 2004-07-08 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2004-07-08

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: dscottusa on 1988-08-28 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 1988-08-28

Record your own Ascent