Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Traveler Buttress - 5.9 popular Average Rating = 4.50/5 Average Rating : 4.50/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: leoand23 on 2014-08-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Walk a #5 and you'll be fine

One #4,#5 is all you need to protect the ow portion. Walk the #5 as far as you can then place the #4 and it will be very well protected. The first time I tried to tr this pitch could not do it and had to stay outside on the left. I had my lead head on and three years later after that first attempt got my red point. (I'm still yet to climb P1)

Added: 2014-08-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: kachoong on 2011-08-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars First pitch only

Did the pitch to Tombstone ledge

Added: 2011-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: critterdude542 on 2011-08-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Tb

If I ever need to remind myself how bad I suck at rock climbing, I will climb this again. Would actually like to see someone free climb the OW. Wished the dike hiking would go on forever! Super varied route but i'll be damned if that crack is 5.9!

Added: 2011-08-01

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: aerili on 2010-10-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Variety is the spice

Did this in 4 pitches. Led p2 & 4. Thoughts: p1 is sandbagged at 5.8 with some tough, physical, and insecure moves in the OW at the top. P2: I used up to a #4 and fought hard to not fall out of the brutal start but just couldn't do it as I became too exhausted. It is much harder than Pratt's Crack. Eventually I spanned over to the left crack which goes from fingers to hands and is no cakewalk in its own right due to the lack of feet. P3: Sooo fun! P4: conjoins with the end of Corrugation Corner and is wonderful, easy dike hiking. Rating: 5.9 C0 haaaa :)

Added: 2010-10-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: thecornyman on 2010-07-12 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Average

I swapped leads with a party of three. I got P1 and it was kinda boring with a move or two in the 5.8 section. I struggled a little with the OW on P2 and just went out to the 10.b and loved the rest of the pitch. Be careful a few loose rocks on this pitch. P3 was exposed but all there. P4 ladder. All in all I will not repeat.

Added: 2010-07-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Rockjunkie15 on 2010-06-19 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A solid route

A fun route that really isn't that hard, the off width at the beginning of the second pitch is the only part that has any meat to it. I brought up 1 c4 #5 and it wasn't scary at all, after all it's only 10 feet of awkward climbing. The upper pitches are the standard easy dike hiking. Although this route isn't that hard it is by no means a beginner 5.9 trad route.

Added: 2010-06-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Ebird on 1994-05-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Ascent note

Great route--can be crowded

Added: 2009-06-25

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stevieplayland on 2008-11-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars wonderful!

i actually found p1 to be the crux, not the ow!? who knows, though. fun climbing abounds. don't eat fist jams with cams and have a great ride! p3 is a blast.

Added: 2008-11-01

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: snoopy138 on 2008-07-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars asdf

asdf

Added: 2008-07-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: charlieliu on 2008-06-21 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars wow

swapped leads, luckily partner got the crux--I avoided the offwidth seconding by powering up the 10b face instead. I did lead the lieback on the first pitch--bit of excitement, bring a BD #3 and 4. The third pitch is less hard (if you like exposure) and really fun.

Added: 2008-06-22

> >|

Record your own Ascent