Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Nutcracker - 5.8 popular Average Rating = 4.49/5 Average Rating : 4.49/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: csproul on 2015-01-13 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars classic New Years

day climb. It's been years since I've done it but it was an awesome start to the year an it was empty.

Added: 2015-01-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2013-05-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars As good as I expected it to be

Lead P1-P2 and P3. Route was really good. (First ones on route at 10:30am after a rainy morning). Perhaps a little harder than I expected it to be. The crux of P4 would be pretty scary on lead but Eric just jumped from the left jug like it was nothing while I right heel hoked with a little bit of trouble. The view from the top of Manure PB is amazing.

Added: 2013-06-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: mathdesj on 2012-05-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Nicest 5.8 Ever!

Especially P1. Perfect and sustained lieback. Perhaps the most beautiful 5.8 I've ever done! Led P1 P2 P4.

Added: 2012-10-23

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: OrionAgnew on 2012-08-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars n

n

Added: 2012-08-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jpjpjp on 2012-06-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars The Promised Land

First climb in Yosemite Valley! It is amazing here! Leading Pitch 1 was awesome doing the layback slightly runout. The holds are slim on the steepest section here and you don’t want to take away a hold with pro. That said I probably could have placed some pro by my feet once I passed it. Pitch 2 was fine but super easy. The climbing gets to be 5-star again right after it though. Pitch 3 was amazing jamming up the crack system. The way we did it, we had a long Pitch 4 to right under the “crux.” Being 5’10” the crux was super easy and seemed like a 5.6 maybe 5.7 move… It would be much harder for a shorter person. Great top-out with an awesome view.

Added: 2012-06-11

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: aerili on 2011-09-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Finally got to finish this darn thing

With Colin from Scotland! Onsighted p1-2 October 2010 (then stormed off), so I gave those leads to Colin. Then we swapped leads to finish. We had the route to ourselves that morning. Hot and greasy! Mantle move was exciting and scary for me. Due to the length and traversing nature of the crux pitch, I could see it being possible for the second to also sustain an ankle injury if they fell off the crux move (with rope stretch). I kept my second very tight at the start.

Added: 2011-11-06

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: shaner on 2010-05-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun but too crowded

Overall an excellent climb but it was a clusterf*ck the day we ascended it. Erik led all pitches. Started 5.9 right variation to avoid some of the crowd.

Added: 2011-01-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: uni_jim on 2010-09-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars fantastic route

bold mantle move on the last pitch took some care, (not a bad thing) and the climbing was stellar throughout. Took the 5.9 start, and it was a blast. Excellent morning out.

Added: 2010-09-28

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: LineoFire on 2009-09-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars classic shit

great climb with exhilerating mantel.

Added: 2009-09-15

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: punk_rocker333 on 2009-06-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars crowded route

I would reccomend either the 5.9 start to the right or the 5.8 layback. Both are excellent and are the best pitches on the route. The mantle was fun too.

Added: 2009-07-24

> >|

Record your own Ascent