Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Brontosaurus - 5.10c Average Rating = 4.70/5 Average Rating : 4.70/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: rocket_man on 2011-10-09 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars .

Cleaned the gear.

Added: 2011-10-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: climberclif on 2010-03-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2010-03-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Rock Quality
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: alexoverhere on 2009-10-19 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars -

nicest hand crack i've climbed. cool crux too

Added: 2009-10-20

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: clausti on 2009-10-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars woooo

very nice.

Added: 2009-10-04

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: olive on 2009-05-23 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars great jams

Great handjams all the way to the crux, where they are not that great anymore for one move (and where I fell). Good route. Cant wait to be able to lead it :)

Added: 2009-05-29

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: mjwestla on 2008-11-27 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars whew, it's a workout

Even though I'm a pretty weak crack climber I foolishly decided to follow and clean this for someone. Kicked my butt, even though I slid a #2 C4 up ahead of me as a directional as I went and took breaks periodically. I did learn a bit about crack climbing technique the hard way. Such as: It is important to cam your right foot into the crack to take a lot of the load. Lie-backing this crack will make a hard problem even harder. The crux was annoyingly at the end just where it looks like it ought to let up. It got a lot smoother and harder to hang on. The free hanging rap station/anchors made for an interesting rappel, plus you can look up at the terrifying "Welcome to Ole Kentuck" while huffing and puffing and be glad you aren't on that SOB... yow.

I'm glad to see it was recorded here as a 10c instead of the 10b that the Ellington guide has it listed at.

Added: 2008-12-01

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: boondock_saint on 2008-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars fantastic route

led it with some gear already in the crack. fantastic route and my first ever 5.10 and above trad lead as well as my first fall on trad. should have taped up the hands.

Added: 2008-05-27

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: thenutz on 2007-10-19 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Pebble Beach 2007

Love this route the hand jams are great and the line is sweet and very substained. You are fighting to stay in the crack. I look to lead this soon. Great crack and the best hand jams to off hands at the top.

Added: 2007-12-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dan4geng on 2007-09-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Brontosaurus

awesome route... might want to tape up for it though

Added: 2007-09-09

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: williamc on 2004-12-06 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Brontosaurus

Killer jam crack with a tight hands/rattly fingers crux at the top. Beware the pebbles.

Added: 2006-12-06

Record your own Ascent