Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Absinthe of Mallet - 5.10c popular Average Rating = 4.22/5 Average Rating : 4.22/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2012-11-05 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Absinthe of Mallet

With Larry from Los Alamos. My first Cochise climb. Led all the pitches. Second pitch was good. Combined the 3rd-4th pitches with a 60m. The last pitch variation I chose was a bolt line that finishes a 5.10 coming in from the left. Takes the left arete. Airy and fun moves. Not a huge slab or bolt climber and therefore going to be hard to get me to go four or five stars on too many of these Cochise routes. Good intro climb to the area for sure.

Added: 2012-11-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: kubok13 on 2011-02-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars none

led pitches 2,5 and 7

pitch 2 is excellent

Added: 2011-02-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: aerili on 2009-12-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Finally

Been meaning to climb this for like 3 years. Swapped leads. New bolted finish is beyond beautiful.

Added: 2010-01-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: nbujak on 2009-03-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Super Fun (but not a 5.9 LOL)

More serious than peacemaker.
Slab felt difficult but mostly good protection.
Spacing of bolts was at times sporty to say the least.
Tough move out into the crack on pitch two. A bit reachy. That small metolius cam was helpful as pro. (I think someone mentioned using an alien) can't remember the size but it was yellow metolius or smaller.
Last tow bolted pitches were fun.
Download the mountainproject summary of climb it was right on.
Walk off is easy.
Approach to base was 40min.
i had a little trouble locating the first pitch but I went to peacmaker then doubled back and found the corner to the two roofs and saw the first bolt and I knew i was there.
(It was not the obvious route further to the left under the huge crescent roof that travelled over a bolted small roof and followed bolts out to the right. Still don't know what route that was.)


Added: 2009-03-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: laurelja on 2008-03-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars awesome

this is a classic, glad to see some one has upgraded it to a 10...definite 10 moves on pitch 1 and 3 and 4

Added: 2008-03-31

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: canmoron on 2008-02-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Spicy!

5.9++ harder than Peacemaker. We climbed a bolted alternate 2 pitch finish up the face/slab to the right of the big chimney, well protected and no harder than the rest of the route.

Added: 2008-02-23

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: scotchie on 2007-05-06 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Toproped last 1.5 pitches

Climbing with Geir and aerili, we setup an anchor and lowered to the end of the rope, then climbed back out (~ 1.5 pitches). Man, this was STIFF. I felt about to fall on each move, yet I didn't. Can't wait to go back and climb it from the bottom.

Added: 2007-07-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: azrockclimber on 2004-01-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars sweeeeet

amazing climb from start to finish.

Added: 2007-01-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: briarpatch on 2006-12-03 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars cp

3.5 hrs. want to try for under 3hrs

Added: 2006-12-05

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: mandrake on 2005-11-11 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Good route. Nice variety. Personally, I liked Peacemaker better, but this is still definitely worth doing.

Added: 2005-11-11

> >|

Record your own Ascent