Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: The Farce - 5.5 Average Rating = 3.61/5 Average Rating : 3.61/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: drwmhamann on 2011-08-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great first trad lead

would make a great first trad lead, easy climbing if you stay on route, scenic vistas, and a walk off summit, the approach is a little steep though

Added: 2011-08-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: kachoong on 2011-08-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun

Did this as one pitch with a 70.

Added: 2011-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: pilot4life on 2010-08-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Interesting climb

This was a tricky 5.5, but fun, and a the exposure is more like you would find on a 5.7. I felt the crux move was a 5.6.

Added: 2010-11-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: losinghand on 2010-06-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun climb - tricky route finding

I thought this was a fun climb. We did it in 2 pitches - belayed a bit high just under the roof.

Route finding is tricky. Looks like you could start up the track down at the base of the giant boulder, or we did an easy exposed traverse on a dike moving left from the top of the giant boulder. My partner was doing her 2nd lead ever and had a hard time finding good protection on the first pitch. (lots of flaring cracks). I led the 2nd pitch, and the first half didn't protect too well and I ran some stuff out considerably, but the latter half was better.

There are so many cracks and dikes - we had no clue if we were following the Super Topo or not. We definitely did a few moves harder than 5.5 - but nothing that felt beyond 5.7. Overall a fun climb.

Added: 2010-06-02

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: msweet1985 on 2009-06-27 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Decent climb

Fun and somewhat steep for the rating. If you want to do it in 1 pitch, bring slings as rope drag can be a pain

Added: 2009-07-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2009-07-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars one pitch

this is easily done in one long pitch (as long as you don't do the 5.6 start)

the fixed cam below the roof is still there, i worked on it for a little while but the sun was setting so i moved on.

Added: 2009-07-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ladyscarlett on 2009-06-17 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars still newbie

wasn't an onsight, but still managed to make it much more difficult than it had to be. All in all good fun though, solid, fun moves all the way up.

Added: 2009-06-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rudder on 2008-10-20 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars first time to the leap

with mike... mike had me leading off route... that sob. lol

Added: 2008-11-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rockwizard on 2008-08-03 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Steep your tea

Started in the bottom section below the boulder. Start seemed much harder than 5.5. One of the steepest 5.5's that i have climbed, but everything is there when you need it.

Added: 2008-08-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: evanwish on 2008-07-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars different

big dikes! but still sorta hard routefinding...

Added: 2008-07-11

> >|

Record your own Ascent