Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Orange Crush - 5.9 popular Average Rating = 4.59/5 Average Rating : 4.59/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: saint_john on 2013-03-09 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Best 5.9 I've ever been on

I lead the route but had to take to figure out the tricky crux. Once you're past the crux it's smooth sailing to the anchors. This is a fantastic route and a must-do for anyone projecting 5.9/10s. As others have said, the view from the top is amazing.

Added: 2013-03-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: sparkysfd on 2012-10-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Lead It !

Climbed this route a year ago on toprope. Lead it today! Lots of fun.

Added: 2012-10-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: BenWlson on 2012-05-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Beautiful view

Nice crux early.. Then easy jugs to the top. Best view at the ranch.

Added: 2012-06-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Scenery
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jptencio on 2012-05-27 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Great view!! great climb!...i think it;s HCRs tallest climb

Added: 2012-06-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: sparkysfd on 2011-10-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Super Fun

My climbing partner lead and set up the top rope for me. This was super fun. The view is awesome. You HAVE to stop, turn around and look when you top out. I was pretty much at the limit of my ability here (which made it fun). I want to go back and lead it. Leading this in on my "must do" list now.

For my buddy and I there were two cruxy sections. If I had mantle skills it would probably only be one. Something to work on.

Route beta is very correct.

Added: 2011-11-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: iowaclimber80 on 2011-08-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Awesome View

fun route with a fun crux. WAY over protected watched my partner skip 4 bolts at the top.

Added: 2011-08-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tharris242 on 2011-08-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Took the long approach.

We were told all the roads were closed and to remain parked at the office for the approach. Then, we took the wrong closed road that made for a very hot one hour approach walking more than twice as far as necessary.

Had to do a few desperate downclimbs at the crux to be confident I would make it, but awkwardly muscled up it anyway. (I am hopelessly obsessed with onsighting everything up to 10a.) Found a much more elegant solution on two subsequent TR ascents.

Owning exactly 14 draws, I easily back cleaned one just in case...the one above the crux, I think. So, you can easily and safely do it with 13.

Added: 2011-08-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: adeffis on 2011-05-14 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Don't miss this one

Absolutely stunning view in a moderate, fun and long route.

Added: 2011-05-24

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: anna8286 on 2011-05-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome view

The crux gave me difficulty and increased my fear, but after passing it with beta from my belayers, the rest of the route was awe-some. It was more of a 5.7 at the last stretch.

My favorite view of Horseshoe.

Added: 2011-05-20

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bnoble on 2011-03-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars ascent note

Fun route. Forgot to look at the view. Always do.

Added: 2011-03-20

> >|

Record your own Ascent