Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: The Squamish Buttress - 5.10c popular Average Rating = 4.30/5 Average Rating : 4.30/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: dzunit on 2011-07-22 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Amazing climbing

The crux pitch kicked my ass

Added: 2011-09-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Jooler on 2011-09-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Did first half

Did the first half of the Buttress then finished on the Butt Face out left

Added: 2011-09-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: TNJed on 2011-07-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars coo

Nice route. My first climb to the top of the Chief. Seconded the 10.c crux pitch, as it is way out of my league for leading. Was a great day 90% in the shade, accessing via Calculus and Memorial Crack. Wonderful climb.

Added: 2011-08-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: karstosis on 2011-07-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars What a great line!

After experiencing the sheer joy of Angel's Crest two weeks prior, I was itching for another long day up the Chief. This proved a worthy follow up.

We approched via Diedre and Boomstick.

Link each of the first pair's of easier pitches to save time. Drag is minimal if protection is well thought out. The 5.9 before the crux is fun, but this is really all about the thin 10c corner crack which serves as the centerpiece of this climb. Bring lots of small pro!

Good times!

Added: 2011-07-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: shazzle on 2010-07-06 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars squish buttress

Should not have put sunscreen on before the crux, thank goodness for chalk.

Added: 2010-07-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: gabriel.botel on 2010-06-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars greenpoint

Hangdogged 10c pitch; greenpointed others.


Added: 2010-06-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cluckcluck on 2010-06-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars COol but crowded

We ended up waiting behind 3 parties for the crux pitch (10c), but it was worth it. Climbing to that point was nice, but not amazing. The crux pitchis definitely the highlight (although I gotta admit I didn't lead that one).

Added: 2010-06-14

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jabronybob on 2008-07-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars good times

super fun and first really big day. Route choices: Diedre to broomstick then finish with the buttress.

Added: 2009-04-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: hammerless_7 on 2008-06-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars A fun day out

My first route to the top of the Chief, I did not lead the crux but maybe another time.

Added: 2008-12-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: vanclimber on 2008-06-30 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Quality climbing at the crux

THE PITCH is what it should be called. The rest is just exposed hiking. We only roped up for the 10c. That pitch was great, takes lots of gear and can be climbed several different ways.

Added: 2008-06-30

> >|

Record your own Ascent