Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Jolt - 5.10a popular Average Rating = 4.78/5 Average Rating : 4.78/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: zmclaugh on 2013-07-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Sad to see this one go.

Great route. Won't be able to get the flash now though

Added: 2013-07-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Mhondo on 2013-05-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2013-05-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2012-07-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A definetly must do!

I loved this route. It is exactly 30m to the top, and it is just unique and in and amazing setting... (not to mention a little bit scary even for followers)

Added: 2012-07-16

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: annette on 2011-06-22 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars EXCITING

I loved this climb! Just as I was getting on the route the rain clouds were rolling in. I quickly cruised the first part of the climb. Once getting to the fin the climb changes drastically. Talk about feeling exposure! Going from a great stance out onto the fin is so exciting, and adrenaline is pumping. Once you get out onto the fin the remainder of the climb is casual. A light rain started just after clipping the chains. (i lucked out)

Great, great climb...totally recommend leading this over seconding or TRing.

Added: 2012-01-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: corestan on 2011-11-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great, smooth climb.

Amazing route with solid/comfortable clipping locations. Definitely worth climbing more than once and a must do if you're up in the area and the route is open. Fantastic view from the top, worth sitting up there to just see what you can see.

Added: 2011-11-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: Yosca on 2011-07-17 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars fun and super exposed

Cleared it on lead after watching a few pals get on it. The top third is definitely mucho exposed compared to most of Rumney. The edge of the arete offers the best holds but you're not so willing to get very close and risk the barn door around that corner! Grade seems fair, despite the arguments made below by other commenters.
I pulled a few small flakes off while climbing, watch out for that.

Added: 2011-07-17

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: sgodwin on 2010-10-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Incredible

Second only to Dolt as my favourite climb at Rumney. Definitely not 5.10b though, I'd say 5.10a. Note: Guidebook and this page says 10 bolts to LO... it's actually 11. Thought I was cool leaving 2 directionals in Dolt for a toprope and climbing this with 10 draws and ended up skipping the last bolt.

Added: 2010-12-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: Gmburns2000 on 2010-10-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Wow

This is one of the best routes I've ever done. I really enjoyed it.

BTW - there's no WAY this is 5.10b as the database says it is. No harder than 5.9, so don't let this page's grading deter you.

Added: 2010-10-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: mnottingham on 2010-09-06 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Jolt

TR'd it many years ago.

Added: 2010-09-17

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jtreewoodchuck on 2010-08-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars sick fin

exposure with easy climbing.

Added: 2010-08-16

> >|

Record your own Ascent