Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: The Daddy - 5.6 popular Average Rating = 4.57/5 Average Rating : 4.57/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating X
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Solo Solo ascent by: A-Bowl on 2013-06-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars jugs

Pretty cool rock. Took a variation that earned me a nut and a biner someone bailed off of. Its straight up before traversing directly left on p3... up next to a tree through some steeper stuff then traversing left higher into pitch 4. pretty classic and more direct than the original... better? not sure. but looks better. Harder? maybe... jugs either way. A great line to free solo since the hike is a pain even without weight.

Added: 2013-06-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: jsaunders on 2012-05-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Always a blast

Took my lady for her first time on The Daddy. Linked P2 & 3 for a great time.

Added: 2012-05-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jsaunders on 2011-09-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great day

First time leading entire climb. Linked pitch 2 & 3.

Added: 2011-09-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jsaunders on 2011-05-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Just pitch 2, 3 & 5

Followed on pitch 1, led linking 2 & 3 together and led 5th pitch finally.

Added: 2011-05-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: JDSmith on 2008-05-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Classic NC

A truly unique 5.6: steep, technical, wandering, amazing setting. A must do.

Added: 2011-05-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: scrapedape on 2011-04-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great way to spend an afternoon

We headed down to the Amphitheater planning to do the Mummy, but rather than wait in line we hopped on the Daddy.

After 3 pitches we picked up a couple of climbers who were planning to bail. To save them the hike out, we joined up with them.

I led p2 and p5, which were well very well protected. James led p1, p3, and p4. Gear may have been spaced out a little on p4.

This is a truly great climb. The crux, in my opinion, is getting over the boulder at the end of p4 / start of p5.

Added: 2011-04-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: jsaunders on 2011-04-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Only first 3 pitches

Led first 3 pitches which we mistakingly turned into 4 stopping on the first tree ledge. Felt weary of the moves off the deck on the actual 4th pitch seeing a nasty fall potential so swung the last 2 pitch leads. Overall I felt the climb is much more difficult than 5.6 though we did have large packs and tired before we started

Added: 2011-04-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: jsaunders on 2010-07-24 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Follow to route!

Had fun though got a bit lost on P3 :)

Added: 2010-08-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: justen on 2010-05-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars First larger multipitch- perfect except for the return

fantastic climb - hideous return since we couldn't find trail off buttress and had to bushwack for six hours up mtn. made it to car at 230am. Trail evidently goes back left along top of cliff along ampitheater, NOT along top of ridge! I lead first three pitches - Lyn led last two. one short fall by me after getting off route on last pitch night climbing.

Added: 2010-05-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.6
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: captaincolorblind on 2010-04-04 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars *

Swinging leads with J-Show. Absolutely amazing climb!

Added: 2010-04-04

> >|

Record your own Ascent