Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Kor's Flake - 5.7 popular Average Rating = 4.57/5 Average Rating : 4.57/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: satch on 2014-09-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Big gear or no fear...

are pretty much the choices. We climbed the off-width flake without ever getting in it. Used a #5, #6 and a blue big bro. There is a marginal, shallow red tri-cam placement and an even shallower #3 rp where the widest section begins, so you could skip the big bro if that's solid enough for you. Moderately polished, but still a good climb. Challenging for the grade. My partner suggests not getting a PMS girl on this route who doesn't love squeeze chimneys and off-widths. She may be right, but then the world (and I'm pretty sure the world heard it) would have missed all that cussing.

Added: 2014-09-14

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: amzoil on 2009-08-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Classic!

By far, one of my favorite routes. Beautiful scenery, lots of exposure.

Added: 2011-09-25

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: esander4 on 2010-10-11 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun

No comment

Added: 2011-04-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: elizaclimb on 2010-06-10 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Kor's flake

Amazing climb! followed Wes. Wow!

Added: 2010-06-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jmeizis on 2008-09-23 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Flakes of Wrath

Some fantastic climbing. The roof on the last pitch is awesome. The chimney's detract slightly and I ran them out quite a bit but it'd be hard to fall out. Bring a #5 and #6 if wide stuff isn't your thing.

Added: 2008-09-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating R
Flash Flash ascent by: Gmburns2000 on 2008-09-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Kors Flake

Need large gear - Camalot 5 and / or 6 for the third pitch.

I led P2 and P4. JMeizis led P1, P3, and P5.

Added: 2008-09-24

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stamplis on 2008-07-21 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars _

Does it count as spousal abuse if I sat and belayed as my wife thrashed up the offwidth with no big cams?

Added: 2008-08-21

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: mcernie on 2008-06-23 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars epic and classic!

roche led, i followed. great day.

Added: 2008-07-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: pswade on 2007-09-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fight the Fridge

Swapped leads on this one. The chimney "hole", on P1 is hard with a pack on, so definitely clip it off, and drag. Make sure you shorten P2, otherwise you will run out of feasible belay options for P3. P3 can be a man-eater crack, or a fight with the fridge. If you choose against the engulfment of your body, the fridge is 50 feet of run-out, with maybe a #2 brassy halfway up. P4 and 5 are some of the most amazing, varied climbing of this level anywhere.

Added: 2007-09-20

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
Onsight Onsight ascent by: furrymurry on 2007-08-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars kor's flake

fun day with arnold. swung leads with him taking the first. I led the wide dihedral thing, not big gear so just ran it out about 50 feet, no biggee.

Added: 2007-08-20

> >|

Record your own Ascent