Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Pony Express - 5.9 popular Average Rating = 3.91/5 Average Rating : 3.91/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: teo916 on 2012-01-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Favorite 5.9 at the loaf

Splended first pitch of layback moves off the flake. I can imagine it would get warm in the summer. It was mid 60's (in January here!) and I was sweating a bit.

Added: 2012-01-10

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: nkane on 2011-10-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars WHOOOPS

big whip almost at the end of the pitch. Total surprise. Not sure what happened. Oh well, woke me up and no injuries.

Added: 2011-12-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: sierragal93546 on 2011-07-30 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Way too hot!

Stiff 5.9. Beautiful rock but too hot in July. Caught the shade on the west face but once the sun hit it was cooking. Really fatigued getting up to the climb due to the heat and steepness of the climb.

Added: 2011-08-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: JulianPatino on 2011-05-05 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great Warm-up

First pitch only. Lead set up anchor, team followed on top rope.

Added: 2011-06-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: leoand23 on 2010-10-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome crack

Really fun climb, great protection everywhere. Have I had the #5 bd, I could have used it at the top near the finish (used # 4 instead). save a runner to extend your piece at the crack near the near the top. (Only did first pitch 10/15/10.)
I have climbed this route multiples times now and I have never used the #5. I also finished to the top and believe me on this one you don't want to do the second pitch. Finish on a different route or just go down it is not worth it. (3/24/12)

Added: 2010-10-16

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: laurenswarley on 2010-05-08 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2010-06-02

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cobbledik on 2010-05-08 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars -

-

Added: 2010-05-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rsb1250 on 2010-03-27 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sugarloaf

Good warm-up. first pitch only

Added: 2010-03-29

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: retro67 on 2009-09-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Mikes and Joshs Pony

Second or third time on this for me. next time will do second pitch.

Added: 2009-09-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: petertherock on 2008-05-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Liebacking

I led the 1st pitch only. (5.8)

Added: 2009-07-15

> >|

Record your own Ascent