Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Unimpeachable Groping - 5.10d popular Average Rating = 4.38/5 Average Rating : 4.38/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cracklover on 2013-05-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun!

Nice route.

Added: 2013-05-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jajen on 2012-11-01 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun route

Good climbing on good rock. Definitely NOT 10d. Handren calls it 10b and that's maybe a little generous but it's a fun climb. Make sure to do the last pitch - fun slab with great position and then rap the back side to Power Failure. Mostly sport but a few pieces come in handy here and there - kinda' heady without anything but draws.

Added: 2012-11-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: coryberkebile on 2010-03-17 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Great climb, probably 5.10 not 10d

I climbed this route as part one of a link-up day. The second climb was the classic crimpson chrysalis.
This route climbs really fast and has an easy rappell descent.

Added: 2012-01-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jmeizis on 2011-04-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Interesting

The climbing has several stellar moments but for the most part it's fun climbing with a few unpleasant sections. I found the first pitch heady because of the whole tree climbing thing and some junky rock but other than that the climbing was very enjoyable. I thought this was easier than DOWT which is 10a. Not even close to 10d.

Added: 2011-04-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: blueeyedclimber on 2011-03-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun route!

This isn't 10d. Handren's book says 10b. I'd say that's fair. Super fun climbing. We rappelled before the last pitch.

Added: 2011-03-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: fluffystuff on 2010-10-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun!

So much fun!
Even more fun than Prince of Darkness maybe.
Variety of moves. Tons of options always.
So cool. Thanks Ming for leading me up this even when jet lagged!

Added: 2010-11-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: piratemike on 2010-09-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Wow

Did this one with Eddie. We climbed up to the last pitch but were both too EXHAUSTED to lead the last one, not to mention both out of water.

It was a lot of fun. Any single pitch by itself was easily within our abilities but by the end you can see why some people suggest this is best for comfortable 5.11 leaders. I rate it 5.10d with the exhaustion factor.

I'll come back another time for the RP, but it was worth the experience and the view regardless. Roof is fun, great exposure.

Added: 2010-09-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: csproul on 2010-03-25 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars pretty fun route

All sport, no gear was needed. Nothing harder than 10b. Rap the route with two ropes if you don't do the last pitch. There are more bolts and anchors than are listed in the guide, so bring extra draws and think about linking pitches if you come to an anchor sooner than expected.

Added: 2010-03-31

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: alexoverhere on 2010-01-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars multipitch sport

Sustained, at times slightly overhanging 5.10b climbing. A nice exposed 5.9- roof section that was the route highlight. There are at least 2 extra stations equipped with rap bolts on this route (assuming you're climbing with 60m ropes), so skip the obvious ones that appear 3-5 bolts above a belay (we did the route in 6 pitches by just using stations that appeared when we ran out of quickdraws). Also, there are *a lot* of bolts on this route. We took 15 QDs and kept running out. The falls are safe so you can skip clips (really the bolts are spaced a tad too closely) or take 17 QDs. I took a set of nuts but didn't place them, thinking at times that a couple tiny cams would have been more useful. Rapped the route with two 60m ropes, barely reaching the ramp up and to the left of the start of the climb in 4 raps.

Added: 2010-01-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: stevecurtis on 2007-01-24 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Fun

We did this in rain, on a semi rest day. a fun non-commiting route. I didn't use any natural gear.

Added: 2009-10-23

> >|

Record your own Ascent