Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Finger Locks or Cedar Box - 5.5 popular Average Rating = 3.91/5 Average Rating : 3.91/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: gblauer on 2013-08-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Ran it again to clean the gear

Joyful and fun

Added: 2013-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2013-08-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars A delightful 5.5

I think this would be a great climb for a new 5.5 leader (who can deal with crack). The opening is easily protectable, sustained crack climbing, around the tree and then you get some very cool slab moves. Good gear on the slabs makes this a nice outing for a new leader. Fun.

Added: 2013-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2012-11-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Aid climbed

Did about 8 laps today. Learning to Aid climb. Much fun!

Added: 2012-11-24

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: porkchop_express on 2011-05-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars a splitter in the Gunks!

solo. fun. knowing how to use a crack down low is helpful. a little slabby up top.

Added: 2012-05-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: crw5074 on 2011-07-09 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars A crack climb at the Gunks?

Kinda, not really, and way too short. Fun though.

Added: 2011-07-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: juliacoreyburns on 2011-06-26 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars fun climb!!

really fun climb- though i really prefer the top part (with the finger locks!) over the lower portion. while the gear is obviously plentiful, i feel like it is kinda hard for the grade... might just be me, but i think it is a more challenging 5.

Added: 2011-07-04

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: d0nk3yk0n9 on 2010-10-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Awesome for a First Lead!

Did this as my first lead. Mock lead it first to get a feel for it, then took the sharp end for the first time. Fun climb, easy gear placement.

Added: 2010-10-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.5
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: juliacoreyburns on 2010-10-02 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars wish it was longer!!

just as you are thinking- "ah, what fun climbing!" the pitch is finished. wish it was a longer crack. anyway, it is great climbing and gear is everywhere... fun climb. i led, and pavel seconded.

Added: 2010-10-04

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Flash Flash ascent by: happiegrrrl on 2010-07-15 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars n/a

I'd only done a mock lead on this way back when I started so it was nice to tick it on lead. Belayed by Valerie

Added: 2010-07-19

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: gblauer on 2010-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars This climb eats gear

I am not a crack climber so this was fun to practice. I thought I was going to pitch off near the bottom! I think the crux is the face above the tree.

Added: 2010-07-02

> >|

Record your own Ascent