Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Gephardt-Dufty - 5.8 Average Rating = 3.78/5 Average Rating : 3.78/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: up_for_a_good_time on 2012-08-13 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Very Underrated Climb - Beautiful

Did all 5 pitches in 3 pitches. Did 5.8 right side variation. Crossed the "notch" post-boulder mid-2nd pitch. RO climbed. Well recommended. First time I climbed beyond rappell boulder.

Added: 2012-08-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fsm109 on 2010-10-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Gephardt-Dufty

Nice exposed climb. Some akward moves, but solid and clean rock.

Added: 2011-03-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: IBWiglin on 2009-11-07 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars A Must Do

I missed the belay ledge at 120 ft and then ran out of slings and ended up running it out a good 30 feet till i found a suitable belay. So we did it in two pitches. What a great climb and I loved the overhang at the beginning of the first pitch

Added: 2009-11-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: cwo2 on 2009-03-06 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars '

Denny combined initial pitches; I led across the notch & up to the top. Great views of the South End.

Added: 2009-03-10

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: nafod on 2003-11-16 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Epic Self-Rescue

Climbed it during mid-week in November, nobody else around. Partner was leading a third pitch and took a whipper that turned into a zipper before the 4th piece held, broke right ankle and had an open fracture to the left leg with bone showing. Long self-rescue ensued as I got him off that pitch and then lowered two pitches to the right, coming down near Climbin' Punishment. Forest Service and Gendarme folks helped us from there with litter carry. Could have been worse.

Pretty sure we got off route, by going up the right side of the ridge.

Added: 2008-12-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: franciscov on 2008-04-08 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars spring climb in the edge of rain

Climbed it after a long rain, it was wet and dripping and very fun. This is a great climb and for those who think there is a lot of lose rock you don't know what lose rock is. The decent was not so bad. My recommendation is to stay on the edge of the fin for the last 4th pitch. Lots of liken but its a fine finish. Its a classic trad route, safe if you know how to place natural pro. I did it with stoppers and slings. very fun and consistent.

Added: 2008-04-08

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: karrelsj on 2007-10-06 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars P1 to slipstream

wanted to TR slipstream

Added: 2007-10-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: edger11 on 2007-06-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Gephart

Tough, long climb, great exposure delicate climbing (loose rock)

Added: 2007-06-22

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating PG13
Second Second ascent by: jsicilian on 2007-05-31 (View Climbing Log)

1 out of 5 stars ascent note

The only thing enjoyable was the view at the top. Lots of loose rocks and lots of lichen. I wouldn't recommend it.

Added: 2007-05-31

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: up_for_a_good_time on 2005-11-13 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2005-11-13

> >|

Record your own Ascent