Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Grit and Bare It - 5.11a Average Rating = 3.15/5 Average Rating : 3.15/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bodyboarder on 2012-12-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars ...

fun route, not that runout but a little spooky at the top.

Added: 2012-12-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: wshaffer on 2011-09-22 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Sketchy at best?

Grit and Bare It is a pretty good name for a route that features PG13 to R rated run outs. The route is most easily clmibed straight up the middle, not starying too far right or left. Yet none of that matters once raching the sloping sketchy run out to the top!

Added: 2012-11-08

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bdc on 2011-10-09 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars I didn't climb this route.

.

Added: 2011-10-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: Circa on 2010-10-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars techy scary exciting crazy

sketchy clip and some slabby pulling to gain the ledge;;;;; was definitely making some kind of weird scared noises

TR'd a while ago, RP 10/15

Added: 2010-10-15

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: mattrichardson on 2010-09-11 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars .

one hung onsight atempt. didnt stay to put it up

Added: 2010-09-15

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: mattrichardson on 2010-09-11 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars .

one hung onsight atempt. didnt stay to put it up

Added: 2010-09-15

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rat-baby on 2010-07-20 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars .

.

Added: 2010-08-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: KeeblerO on 2009-10-31 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun climb

Great 11. Fairly easy at the bottom. The top is slab and a bit run out with the crux right below the slab. Fun route. One anchor is spinning a bit. I could not get the nut to tighten so just be careful.

Added: 2009-11-02

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: overzealous on 2009-07-12 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Traverse right near top?

I traversed right a good bit at the top out, then back left to the anchors, not sure if this is how the route was intended or now.

Fun route either way though.


Added: 2009-07-02

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.11a
  Safety Rating R
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Red Point Red Point ascent by: Overhanger on 2009-05-02 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Left me wondering

I watched everyone traverse right above bolt 4, move up, climb back left & clip 5 from the ledge, and then pull the bulge. i remember two years ago my friend crimping with a left hand under bolt 5, high feet, then reaching up to a RH crimp (which is a LH the doing it the other way) then bumping over to the ledge to clip just right of bolt 5, eliminating about 4-5 moves. yet to pull that off seems damn near impossible. not sure what is correct. I think this is 11a cuz of the massive runout at the top, a fall here would probably suck royal.

Added: 2009-05-04

> >|

Record your own Ascent