Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: The Cardiac Arete - 5.10d popular Average Rating = 4.75/5 Average Rating : 4.75/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: mooba on 2010-08-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Grand Sentinel

Beautiful approach...from dense forest to alpine. MARMOTS!
Neat layered rock. Chossy at top out.

B- Adam

Added: 2010-09-13

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2008-07-22 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Cardiac Arete

Part of Joe A's visit, 2008. Pumped out from Sisyphus Summits the day before....this was set up to be sort of a rest day, but found it still quite pumpy. The 5.10c 2nd pitch was quite sustained we thought. The roof move on pitch 3 was a blast and the 4th pitch was by far the best pitch. Good stuff. No one else climbing either routes this day on the Grand Sentinel.

Added: 2008-07-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: uasunflower on 2007-09-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Great!

One of my best experiences in the Rockies - approach totally worth very good climbing. Rock pile top, just great!

Added: 2007-09-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: rsbombard on 2007-07-28 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Cardiac Arete - Grand Sentinel

Long approach with great scenery followed by four wonderful and varied pitches - each with their own unique climbing style. Loved the 2nd and 3rd pitch. Well worth the hike.

Added: 2007-08-08

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: cragger on 2005-12-09 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2005-12-09

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: maiorlive on 2004-08-14 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

I almost bailed at the first pitch when Steve said he didn't want to lead any of the pitches. It was getting late and I was fatigued (needed more fuel, I guess). But on the way to the second station it hit me that Steve was asking me to lead every pitch of a classic. It was sweet. Double ropes make the rappel a dream as the 4th station drops the rope straight down to the 2nd and the 2nd drops to a broad shelf (unlike the rappel from the 1st station). Oh yes, and the climb has some beautiful, intimidating, classic cruxes and sequences on each pitch.

Witnessed by: Rob B, the dreaded Scott, Steve
Added: 2004-08-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: rob on 2004-08-14 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

An amazing route. So many great moments, from stepping around the arete at the beginning of the third pitch, to pulling the roof, one of the best routes I've climbed.

Added: 2004-08-14

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: derekt on 2004-08-10 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2004-08-10

Ratings
  Difficulty
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: biff on 2004-08-10 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

the 10c pitch pumped me out and I hung a bit. Excellent route, with a long, but beautiful aproach.

Witnessed by: derekt
Added: 2004-08-10

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tonydevo on 2002-08-23 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

10d/11a very cool.

Added: 2002-08-23

Record your own Ascent