Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Stolen Chimney - 5.10c popular Average Rating = 4.85/5 Average Rating : 4.85/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: floridaputz on 2014-03-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great summit

undoubtable the best summit I've been on. However it is made of mud and very delicate

Added: 2014-03-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: HayleyA on 2011-07-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Classic climb

Good introductory tower climb, well protected, airy summit

Added: 2012-11-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: uberguide on 2011-03-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars climbed today

awesome. airy. desert fun on mudrock. :)

Added: 2011-03-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10d
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: KCN on 2010-11-03 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars EXPOSURE !!!!!

wow fun fairly easy for the most part small rack will do you mostly only need it on the chimney pitch 1 set of camalots .5-4, 1 set of nuts or tricams, tricams are probably best in this mud, 4 bolt ladder on pitch 2 is now a 3 bolt ladder with ankle breaking runout on slopey 5.10c/d moves stem baby stem

Added: 2010-11-03

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: tammyvh on 2009-10-05 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Spectacular climb and views

My first tower and it was awesome.

If going after a windstorm, be careful of the loose dirt attached to the rocks, but it's nothing to get worried about. The rock is solid and the chimney and summit are awesome. Great views of the area from the summit.



Added: 2009-10-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: akio on 2009-08-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Woot For Eric!

Eric Odenthal guides for a local comp in moab, as does Joseph Smith (real name) look em up, they are the best! This climb got me back into climbing

Added: 2009-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9 A0
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: NoMoCouch on 2009-07-02 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars First Tower

My first tower and best climb yet! Thanks goes to ERic O., my guide, for the support and everything else!

Added: 2009-07-05

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: byran on 2009-03-29 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Ancient Art

A climb both beautiful and terrifying. I'd never have considered climbing such a precarious formation without the relief that it's held the weight of so many other climbers before me. The first ascensionists must have truly been lunatics. We had 50mph gusts on the summit making the whole thing quite a bit more exciting. One of my most memorable climbing experiences. It goes free at a much easier grade than 5.10c - a more "moderate" tower than anything in Castle Valley.

Added: 2009-06-17

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: shippling on 2009-05-12 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars utah trip

very fun route

Added: 2009-06-09

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: elholando on 2009-03-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Only One of Its Kind

You would be hard pressed to find another finish like this one.

Added: 2009-04-24

> >|

Record your own Ascent