Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Karate Crack - 5.10a Average Rating = 3.50/5 Average Rating : 3.50/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide


Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: dowww on 2014-04-10 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Karate Crack

Great trad pitch for this area. The crux is getting started. It is a bit blind moving into the twin cracks from the right. You can get a C4#1 in before making the move. Easy climbing gets you up to the fun overhanging hand crack. Feet are always there and hands are bomber, but challenging for the novice crack climber no doubt. Rap the tree to the left. Decent morning shade in April.

Added: 2014-04-12

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: chillyb on 2013-02-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars quality

short, but awesome quality. it's in the handren guidebook as 5.9. It's pretty hard for a 5.9, but i guess it's 5.9 crack.

Added: 2013-02-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10b
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: buoux on 1986-02-25 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Karate Crack

Brad Stewart & I did the FA on this route on 2-25-86, according to an old topo. I told Brad about the route - he drew the short straw and got the lead. He graded it at 5.10b and after looking at the backs of my hands, I couldn't argue. Located about 300 yards north of the Outhouse Wall on the right (east) of the dirt road that leads from Willow Springs to the Red Rock summit. Nick Nordblum subsequently added a second pitch and graded it 5.11b.

Added: 2009-10-17

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: needrock on 2009-03-13 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars fun

good climb.

Added: 2009-03-13

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: emick27 on 2009-01-26 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars rough but fun

.

Added: 2009-02-26

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: DHART on 2008-08-15 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Judo Chop

i'd say its closer to 40ft than 60ft. smaller hands would help on this one. starts off on some small gear and gets to hands midway for the top out. rappel anchors set around tree. good climb even in summer before 11am

Added: 2008-08-15

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: lucaskrajnik on 2008-01-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars jhdld

yea

Added: 2008-01-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: vegastradguy on 2007-01-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Really good!

Superb climbing on excellent rock. Brock rates it at 5.9, I'd say somewhere between 5.9+ and 5.10a depending on how your crack skills are- might feel much harder if you are new to crack climbing.

Added: 2007-01-07

Record your own Ascent