Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Garbanzo Bean - 5.10a Average Rating = 3.40/5 Average Rating : 3.40/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: Peterslug on 2013-04-22 (View Climbing Log)

2 out of 5 stars Clunky

Without the traverse left, the route was a ~5.8 though pro placing was a bit of work. Large 4 or 4.5 necessary to protect the top chimney/ offwidth

Added: 2013-04-22

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.8
  Safety Rating PG13
Second Second ascent by: rockjockrob on 2006-06-05 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Way to damn hot

Greg lead this route, and I followed it took him like thirty minutes to lead, and I followed in about 5! It was great!

Added: 2007-09-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: fearlessclimber on 2006-01-14 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars agreed

sand in a bag

Added: 2007-03-21

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: climbaddic on 2007-02-10 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars 5.7 my A$$

Probably most sandbagged 5.7 I have ever been on. Moves are super hard, but it protects easily and solidly. Maybe next time I am strong enough to place few cams at the crux without pulling on the cams.

Added: 2007-02-10

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: sun2stone on 2005-10-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars jam and grunt

start move tough

Added: 2006-12-22

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: grippedclimer on 2006-07-30 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

sandbag 5.7

Added: 2006-07-30

Ratings
  Difficulty
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: rockjockrob on 2006-06-03 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

dicey start! The crux is definately the traverse to the left crack. Lead by Greg Caruso.

Added: 2006-06-03

Ratings
  Difficulty
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: fritzski on 2005-10-17 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Tough start to get up in flared crack. I would consider most of this climb an offwidth rather than a narrow chimney. There are only a few spots where you could fit most of your body in. Cool traverse from belay ledge to start second pitch. Very sustained and physical. Felt rating was very "old school".

Added: 2005-10-17

Ratings
  Difficulty
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: claramie on 2005-10-16 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

First pitch isn't very good. Second pitch was nice. We didn't go the way described here... we traversed left where it gets blocky to reach the next crack left. Then followed that to the top (2nd pitch).

Added: 2005-10-16

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: mandrake on 2004-11-20 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Thought this was a sandbag 5.7. Wouldn't want to put a 5.7 leader on this route. Probably better to do it in two short pitches.

Added: 2004-11-20

> >|

Record your own Ascent