Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Treasure of Sierra Madre - 5.10c Average Rating = 4.17/5 Average Rating : 4.17/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: iluvtoplayoutside on 2010-03-20 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Another must do moderate

lots of good crack to use, pockets too. fun variety.

Added: 2010-03-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: USnavy on 2010-02-26 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Okay

Donít skip the first set of anchors on pitch two and stop at the second set. That second set of anchors is a sub-rap anchor for people with 60m ropes. If you skip the first set of anchors and stop at the second set you will be leading the 10c crux right out of the belay station. If you blow the 10c move you will take a nice factor two fall right into the belay station. If you stop at the first set you avoid taking a factor two if you blow the 10c move up higher.

Its best to skip the last two pitches. They are rather boring, extremely sharp and will eat your rope alive. There is shit everywhere for the rope to get hung up on making a reclimb of the last two pitches likely.

Bring four two foot slings (trad draws) for the second 10c crux. The bolts wonder all over the damn place at the beginning and without some slings on them you will yourself experiencing some gnarly drag.


Added: 2010-02-26

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bonner1040 on 2010-01-11 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars awesome route, bad experience

painful tendons, loose rock, dry heaving, running out of water, and complicated repels made this an almost-epic. awesome route though! didnt do last pitch, looked lame and 3rd class-ish.

me and james martin yo-yo'd leads.

Added: 2010-01-11

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: jasonv on 2009-01-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars -

-

Added: 2009-01-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10a
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: okieterry on 2008-12-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars loved it

Vonda and I had a great time on this route. I led all pitches. No falls. Very fun route. One of my favorites in the park. Beautiful summit. Well bolted and easy to get down.

Added: 2009-01-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating PG13
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: kvochatzer on 2008-11-26 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars i got the treasure!

i led 1, 2, 5, and 6. climbed with Kim. Pitch 5 is not so much the overhang as the thin face getting off the belay station to the overhang.

Added: 2008-12-02

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: local_guy on 2008-11-12 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars straightforward

climb column to top

Added: 2008-11-16

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: todd_climberinla on 2008-03-28 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars amazing route

We did all the pitches, topping out on a narrow ridge line with a beautiful view in all directions. I was glad to have the extra safety bolts up there. I led pitches 1, 3, 5, and 7. The 10c roof pitch (#5) is arguably one of the best sport pitches I've ever done. Crack technique and lots of stemming will make you fly.

Added: 2008-06-30

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.10c
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: snackmasterb on 2008-05-24 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun in the sun

Very very fun climbs.. enjoyed the cracks! The view at top is muy bueno ;) Partner Nassim led the 10c's, I took 2nd, 4th, 7th. I'd like to do again leading 1/3/5!

Added: 2008-05-26

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Onsight Onsight ascent by: niccast on 2008-03-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Nice climb

Climbed it in gale-force winds (didn't realize this at the start). Could only summit long enough to check out the view and quickly head down. Still a fun climb.

Added: 2008-03-30

> >|

Record your own Ascent