Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Birdland - 5.7 popular Average Rating = 4.11/5 Average Rating : 4.11/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

> >|

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: satch on 2014-11-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Excellent route

lots of people. Can rap with single 70.

Added: 2014-11-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: caysedave on 2008-01-18 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars velcro

rope stuck goodness

Added: 2014-01-28

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: UmBerto on 2013-04-17 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fun and Mellow

This is a very mellow and fun climb. P1 is fairly steep, but juggy and easy to protect. P2 and 3 can be linked with a 70 m rope and are varied and fun, with an interesting right to left undercling traverse. P4 is face climbing on fantastic varnished juggy rock. Pure fun. P5 is a bit steeper and finishes with a nice crack, but face holds abound.

Added: 2013-04-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Flash Flash ascent by: jkushwvt on 2012-03-23 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Busy

Good climb but not worth it if there's a long line. Great bolted stations with tons of space and an easy repel. Easy trad lead.

Added: 2012-03-23

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: bowleggedgoat on 2010-11-07 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Birdland Red Rock Canyon

Some good moments. The route facing you on the dihedral is called The Big Horn.

Added: 2012-02-07

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: geno88 on 2012-01-20 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Way to busy.

We climbed the first three pitches, but were behind a group of three that were not moving very fast and had two groups behind us so gave up and rapped off from the top of the third pitch.

Added: 2012-01-20

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: amigo25zmy on 2010-10-21 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars wrong shoes

I did this climb and forgot to put my trad shoes in my bag so when I got to the start of the climb all i had were my sport climbing muiras. needless to say, my feet were dead by pitch 3 and 4. the last pitch we climbed, i think it was pitch 4, it was like a 70 or 80 ft pitch and i only placed 2 pieces cuz my feet hurt too much to stop and place gear. i still had fun though, and it was a great day

Added: 2012-01-19

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: LamontagnedeGatineau on 2012-01-18 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars New to my top 10 list!

Wow, what a great introduction to Red Rocks! Thanks to local guy, Mark, for bringning me on this beautiful route. Every pitch has something nice in it and every pitch is better than the last one, with a final crack that I would have wanted to never end and a final crux on the very last move with a nicely hidden thank-god jug!

Hardest pitch for me was the 3rd one with the ramp after the bolt: should have listnened to Mark and stepped down left instead of traversing higher up to get to the vertical crack.

Memorable, just memorable.

Added: 2012-01-18

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Second Second ascent by: sierragal93546 on 2011-11-11 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Crowded

Can't really remember...Long wait behind two parties of three and one party of 2.

Added: 2011-11-27

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.7
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: josiahdood on 2011-11-16 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Final pitch is most excellent

Loved the last pitch...

Added: 2011-11-16

> >|

Record your own Ascent