Skip to Content

Routes : Reviews

Ascent Notes for: Sedona Scenic Cruise - 5.9 popular Average Rating = 4.31/5 Average Rating : 4.31/5

Route Summary | Ascent Notes

Show: Sort by: Display:

Comments:  Show | Hide

|< <

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Hang Dog Hang Dog ascent by: agalwholikesclimbs on 2007-11-08 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Great day, interesting descent.

This was my second time, have now lead all pitches. 1 is the crux. I even thought 3 was somewhat tough. Great pro options. Approach takes a little bit of time. If you are in the correct wash, you will see lots of cairns. If you veer off to the left accidently (or don't turn right when you should), you will run into a 20' wall that you can easily scramble up, will see a bike trail/take it to the right & jump in that narrow wash (you will see cairns pretty much right away). Disregard the above unless you CLEARLY know what I'm talking about (and you will if you see no cairns in the wash). The correct wash does get narrow. Get an early start because you don't want to be caught descending in the dark (as I was). Mandatory/headlamp/just in case. I didn't bring anything over a 3.5 cam, you probably don't need a 3.5. We did a more direct descent through a bunch of sucky scree rather than go the way we came. Either way will suck in the dark, so go fast if possible. Even with the crazy descent, it was a wonderful day. My partner, Saveoun, also enjoyed the day!!! -Catherine

Added: 2007-11-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: flamer on 2007-10-08 (View Climbing Log)

3 out of 5 stars Ok route

I found parts of this route to be contrived, but the climbing was fun.

Added: 2007-10-08

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.1
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: laurelja on 2007-03-26 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars some tips

Parking: use the third pullout from the MAIN (large) Bell Rock parking area, it is triangular shaped. I would suggest running the 2nd and 3rd pitch together and to avoid rope drag use a xtra long sling on the bolt prior to the belay/anchor bolts on pitch two. Traverse out the next "pitch" (approx 70 ft), clip the one bolt and continue the traverse right to the anchors. Would also suggest running the fourth and fifth pitchs together. The fifth pitch is a wide ledgy 40 ft chimney, use a long sling off the first bolt on the route to avoid rope drag and move through pitch to the great bolted 6th pitch.


Added: 2007-03-26

Ratings
  Difficulty 5.9
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Top Rope Top Rope ascent by: sailorboy on 2007-01-01 (View Climbing Log)

5 out of 5 stars Steller

I was so stoked while climbing this route. Awesome scenery, awesome climbing, super high route, mixed with moments of good exposure and exciting moves.

Added: 2007-01-04

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
  Exposure
  Rock Quality
  Scenery
  Fun Factor
Onsight Onsight ascent by: lou on 2006-11-19 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Fantastic flying apaches

Onsighted first, third,and fifth pitches...climbed with Huckelberry who onsighted the second and fourth. Great moves...great pro...and scenery out of this world. First and fifth pitches are the cruxes. First is to lieback around the roof..last pitch is an awkward chimney with an overhang block to surmount ( can place pro above from below, then make the move, a red or green cam)...making the moves from the last belay to the dihedral/chimney is challenging to protect...might hold.. he he.... Approach took 50 minutes, nice warm up :) ... Beware the second rappel pull...it is off an overhang that drops into a fourth class section, then back over an edge...rope drops into the fourth class section; had to reclimb a little and downclimb....not really an epic... suggest you really give it a pull..... Rack beta...doubles to 3.5...a 4 cam would not go unused..... do it...

Added: 2006-11-26

Ratings
  Difficulty
  Safety Rating G
Second Second ascent by: jfunk on 2005-10-15 (View Climbing Log)

4 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

No comment

Added: 2005-10-15

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: ullr on 2004-06-29 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

Excellent Euro route.

Added: 2004-06-29

Ratings
  Difficulty
Onsight Onsight ascent by: poncho on 2004-02-08 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

One of THE BEST in Sedona. Minimal groveling. Soon to have a new suprise finish.

Added: 2004-02-08

Ratings
  Difficulty
Red Point Red Point ascent by: sandstoneslave on 2003-03-24 (View Climbing Log)

0 out of 5 stars Ascent Note

John Burcham, you have an amazing eye for a fine line.

Added: 2003-03-24

|< <

Record your own Ascent